1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring a gsr swap in my eg help

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by BIGJOSEPH, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    hey i am swapping a b18c1 gsr swap in my coupe and was wondering if it was worth getting a chipped ecu and also where would be a good spot to find someone to do it or to buy one, and also is it easy to make the harness for the VTEC because mine is a dx and does not already habe it,
    thanks
     
  2. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    i think its worth it you get a better fuel and ignition curve. and usaully you can find one in a import shop they should have the chips there but you will need a p28 to be able to chip one its the best one to chip. and no its not hard you just have to find which pins on your ecu the vtec wire goes in
     
  3. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    well the swap i am doing comes with the gsr ecu can i send that out and have it chipped or do i need to get another one.
     
  4. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    sending it anywhere without the car doesnt do anything

    ever heard of dyno tuning?

    that's the only way to do it right.

    stock parts = stock fuel maps.
     
  5. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    alright but where i live there is really no where here or around here that would be able to do that, any ideas. thanks
     
  6. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    i agree with legal if you want your car done right take it somewhere..i go to my boy wangs tuning in new hampshire hes like the honda god no joke..and as for wireing vtec you need to wire it to your knock sensor and your ecu...better leave that to a pro..no offense..and the easy way to swap is to wire the gr-r all up the drop the motor in and just plug it into the main clips on the side of the engine bay...then do you s/l..axels..exaust nd your done..
     
  7. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    Alright Thanks For The Help
     
  8. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    you dont really need tuning when you get your computer chipped unless its a custom chip or some stand alone system i had a mugen and a spoon chipped ecu with no tuning just got it chipped put it on my car and reved the fuck out of it.. and as for what ecu to chip it is recommmened to use a p28 ( 92-95 civic ex)!! the chip on ebay is like 8 dollars or so and actaully getting chipped is llike 50 so it aint that expensive lol
     
  9. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    i can run the p28 ecu on a gsr swap, or should i chip the p72, thanks for the help by the way everybody
     
  10. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    yeah you can run it but the motor is not going to be pulling its full power potential if you dont have a chip on that p28 from what i know you cant chip the p72 i dont know though its easier to chip the p28
     
  11. BIGJOSEPH

    BIGJOSEPH Big Joseph

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    G-town VA
    so run a p28 ecu out of you said a 92-95 civic ex, is it different then the dx ecu, thanks
     
  12. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    'reved the fuck out of it' - your an idiot. if you had cams/valves/springs/retainers/guides then your cool. but then you'd want to dyno it anyway.

    chipping it like this changes your stock fuel maps. belive it or not, you lost horsepower.

    a mugen chip is for a full mugen built motor

    a spoon chip is for a full spoon built motor

    dont chip it the cheap/incorrect way. the life of your motor depends on it!


    btw, mugen and spoon are retuned. and not for YOUR motor. so you DID change the fuel/ignition tables...
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  13. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    honestly if you go read up on Hondata - Honda ECU Modification and Enhancement they have alot of pertinant information for you, such as which ecu will drive which motor. keep in mind that an ecu that CAN run your motor, but wasnt designed for your motor, is going to require you to change the fuel maps to the maps of your motor. wether you choose hondata or not, they can help you learn some more.

    Applications By Engine
     
  14. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado

    prove all this then stupidass!! the spoon chip has a 8700 rpm redline!! and exactly how do you lose horsepower by changing your stock fuel maps?? how the fuck you gonna have a mugen built motor?? haha your stupid!! have you had a mugen chipped ecu??
     
  15. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    the only difference is that the p28 is a vtec ecu and the dx or po6 is non vtec.. it is easier to chip a p28 though then a p06 hope this helps!! but if anything you can always use a stock gsr and your motor will run good you just have to wire the knock and vtec sensor
     
  16. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado

    yeah hondata is not just a ecu that will run your motor!! its a stand alone engine management system!! that actually requires dynoing and tuning!! cuz its meant to run your motor for power!!
     
  17. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    lol so it raises the redline. you sir, need to read. what good is raising the redline without cams/springs/valves/retainers? You dont create power up there man.

    BOTH chips have air/fuel ratios ment for differnet combinations of parts. different compression. different lift and duration. if you have an otherwise stock motor, yes you are losing power because of it. those fuel maps are not written for a stock motor.

    get bent. dont call someone a stupid ass because they tell you want you said is wrong. just keep reving your motor, and when it breaks a valve, then you'll learn.
     
  18. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    dude that's so he knows what ECUs (in hardware terms) can run his motor

    go home!

    this isnt Need For Speed Undergound
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  19. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    ahaha need for speed undergroudn?? haha ok!! that game didnt teach that!! lol
     
  20. N/AisBEST

    N/AisBEST New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    colorado
    how do you know it wont create power up there?? how do you know it will lose power how are you so sure?? have you dynoed a stock motor on a mugen chipped ecu?? then what exactly are those fuel maps meant for then?? if they arent meant for a stock motor then what are they meant for?? i dont think anyone that has a built motor is going to run there car hard on a mugen chipped they go with hondata, crome, neptune aem something is stand alone!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page