1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring gauges

Discussion in 'Body / Exterior / Interior / Cosmetics' started by eg6sir, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ok..i'm trying to wire up some white face gauges...what are the red and black wires for...and where do they go...
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    anyone??
     
  3. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    [​IMG]


    You can't be serious.
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    im a noob when it comes to wiring
     
  5. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    red is power and black is negative
    so i take it your wiring in either indiglows or reverse indiglows.
    if so splice the red wire into your light brigtness switch (you'll need to find which wire gives power when you turn on the lights) and the black goes to a ground.
     
  6. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    I got a fuse tap. its a think you take a fuse out. I chose my lights so the gauges come on when the lights do. you put the normal fuse in the botom, and a what ever size in the top. I dont think your supposed to go above 5amp or whatever it is. I just hooked the red wire to the wire off the tap and the black wire to the steering colum
     
  7. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    So the gauges have only a mainpower wire that turns the lights on automatically ? You can't get them powered on / lights off ?


    -> Steve
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page