1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

won't start

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by alaskancodkiller, May 28, 2005.

  1. alaskancodkiller

    alaskancodkiller Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    on shore now
    I'm getting fuel, power to the plugs, and have good compression, but it won't run. the motor starts, and kinda chugs along, but never really "starts". I have no intake on, if that will make a difference... and have already checked my timing 10 times... my next step is to get new plugs, could this be my problem??
     
  2. alaskancodkiller

    alaskancodkiller Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    on shore now
    also, what size socket do I need to take them out??
     
  3. ryangt

    ryangt Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    just buy the socket when you get the plugs, match it up itll just save time. you should have some sort of intake. Are you getting to much fuel? too little? do you have a pressure regulator and a gauge or what? We need more info
     
  4. alaskancodkiller

    alaskancodkiller Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    on shore now
    no regulator, or gauge, it's all stock, a 89 dx, to zc swap.
     
  5. ryangt

    ryangt Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    did you check compression?
     
  6. ryangt

    ryangt Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    or the intake gasket and TB gaskets? try unplugging the map sensor and see if the idle speeds up
     
  7. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL


    isnt it suppose to shut off if you take the map sensor plug off....I dunno..
    I was thinking something to do with the map sensor though.....


    Good luck!
     
  8. ryangt

    ryangt Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    well when my map took a shit on my prelude, it would idle like shit waaay low and stumbling, then id unplug the map and it would surge back up to normal idle.
     
  9. 96CIVICLS

    96CIVICLS Senior Member

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    what do you mean you have not intake????

    Are you talking about intake many???

    Or are you talkin about cold air intake???

    Need more info to help



    ya boy steveo
     
  10. alaskancodkiller

    alaskancodkiller Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    on shore now
    intake mani-yes


    ok I'm down to a code 3... checked voltage-
    yellow/red wire, and ground-5v
    green/white, and y/r- 5v
    white, and ground-5v

    now what??
     
  11. alaskancodkiller

    alaskancodkiller Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    on shore now
    ok, I went and checked voltage from ecu pins c11, and c14. and got around 3v. I plugged the ecu back in, and now no codes come up, and it's still doing the same thing...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page