Work

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

XZILER8

So I was at work today and I had a revalation........

I've come to the conclusion that I totally, absolutely, completely, honestly, and sincerely hate my fucking job!

I have spent the last 7 years of my life working in the hopitality industry. I've worked my way up the ladder to where I'm at now. I'm the banquet manager for a local upscale hotel. I work around 75-80 hours a week and only make $28k a year. It pays the bills, but I'm far from happy. I'm sick and tired of pretending like I give a shit about what how the guest feels and bored to tears with explaining myself day in and day out to my boss! It's a low paying industry. I've pretty much given up on a standardized university degree. I'm a certified EMT (emergency medical technician) and have dreams of one day making it on a paid fire department, but that's easier said than done. I've done all the testing, but am playing the waiting game to actually get hired on(it's a long list).

Ok, I just realized I'm ranting :rant:

The reason I started this thread was to ask who if anybody out there works as an auto mechanic. I've always had an interest in cars and love working on them. What does the average auto mechanic make salary wise? Is it an enjoyable line of work. I can't decide whether or not it's a good idea to mix hobbies and work. I would hate to get burned out on being a paid mechanic and thus ruin my hobby. It's kinda like dating your (girl) friend, if things go sour, then you can kiss the friendship goodby. Shitty analogy, but you get the point.

please lend me some advice....................

bill is a mechanic, and makes decent money. but, it all depends on 2 things- how much work there is on a given day, what kind of job it is (flat rate for X job is different for everything) and how long it takes you to do said job.