WTF is up with water pump replacement?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

gdc2000

Noob
OK I got a '88 CRX and it is time for a new water pump. It is making a horrible noise. I went out and got a OEM replacement and started the project. I had to remove the valve cover to get the top timing belt cover off and once I got that done the damn alternator belt was in the way of my tools so I loosened the bracket and took the belt off and pushed the alternator back. I found 4 bolts for the lower cover and got them off but the damn thing wont moved. It is almost like the engine mount is in the way if I were to move it up and on the bottom the crank pulley seems to be in the way. I was looking at the service manual and it makes the removal seem easy but it is kicking my a$$.

Do I have to remove the crank pulley to get this joker off? Any help would be appreciated and sorry if this is a total noob post.

OK after closer inspection it looks like I have to remove the pulley which at this point I cant even do it with my air compressor and breaker bars. The bottom half of the lower timing belt cover loops around it as far as I can tell.

Any suggestions on how to get this thing off. I have read it is a total nightmare. I have tried everything that I could find and still cant get the damn bolt out.

mmm yaaa ... i did the same thing on my 91 civic HB ... your in for a real f***ing nightmare on that ...

your SUPPOSED to remove the pully on bottum to get the cover off ...
supposed to .. i cheated ... cut the bloody f***ing thing ... its a b***h .....