1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WTF? RUST ON MY CAMS?!

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by SleEPeR_CRX, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. SleEPeR_CRX

    SleEPeR_CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C. canada
    Hey all, i was about ready to put my head back together im going to take the cams outa the box and plastic wrapper, when i notice 4 spots of rust on the cams. its not on the lobes but on the part that rides on the head, any1 ever had this b4? the cams were still in box, in plastic wrap, sitting in my enclosed garage. are they still good? will they work? is this crowers fault or mine? wtf?!?!?
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    they are fine
     
  3. SleEPeR_CRX

    SleEPeR_CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C. canada
    lets hope so, im having a shop inspect them tomorrow, and my friend that works for mopac is calling crower, and my friend with an 11 seond civic is helping me put them in, so hopefully it all works out.
     
  4. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    chizzill....after initial startup the rust will go..
     
  5. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    should be fine after you have someone remove the rust(make sure you do)..next time dont buy crower,maybe you can sell them on ebay or something
     
  6. driver1

    driver1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    no it has nothing to do witht he fact that they are crower, and he does not have to have anyone remove the rust. it is simply that they have sat long enuf for the bare metal to corrode alittle bit. it will happen to anything, they prob had alittle moisture left on them from someones hands and thats what did it. My tools do the same thing in my toolbox enclosed in my garage if i dont use them for a while. just throw em in itll wear off fine :thumbsup:
     
  7. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    ya its cool..i wasnt trying to make a big deal out of it..im sure his cams will work fine(as long as they are installed correctly)..i would atleast try to remove the rust,without damaging the cams..
     
  8. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    no need, just throw them in
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page