1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP Pro vs Home Help

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    So the new server is getting the final setup this morning...
    But I have a HUGE problem...

    Apparently Windows Server 2003 will NOT work with windows 98 or windows xp home

    The work machine i just got has windows xp home, and i was planning on moving the old tower to the secretary station but its running windows 98...

    so first question
    will xp home work with server 2003?
    and can i purchase and download windows xp pro from ANY website?
    i feel a bit to blame because i just bought this computer and now i find out it won't work with the new server so i'm trying to fix it asap
    IT guys tell me it needs 512 to run xp pro
    this machine only has 256 but i can rob another 256 from my tower to get it pro ready...
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    256mb in pro will work just fine, but you should bump to 512mb

    home is called home because you can't join a domain with it. some other network functionality has been removed as well.
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    ooohhhh...
    what about home networks?
    lol

    so i'm trying to exchange this acer computer for one with xp pro
    its over 14 days so they couldn't do it via the 800 number but they told me to call the store
    waiting for a call back now...

    but the windows 98 machine is connected to the server and she's doing work on it...
    they said it might work ok for a couple days but sooner or later it'll fuck up...
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you seriously still have a 98 machine? omg...
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yea... 2 of em

    they do letters and shit
     
  6. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    exactly...although for some reason a guy here at work says he got a home edition to join a domain...but i say he just doesnt know what hes talkin about...lol...o well...

    but yea...upgrade to pro...hell if anything...just find a cd and reinstall the OS if you cant get the acer exchanged...
     
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yea, they won't exchange it
    so i need to get the upgrade for 200 bucks

    anyone know of a legit place to buy and download xp pro?
    i know they offer it for shit like quickbooks or other programs
    but i would like to get it setup now
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    im pretty sure you can use the dos command netuse to connect with an xp computer. just set it up in a batch file. im about 90% sure that we had xp home machines connecting to server 2003.
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yea, i'm pretty sure they were talking some complete bullshit

    the windows 98 machine is connected to the server and working perfectly
    i still need to upgrade the OS on the acer but my boss dropped 1K to get an HP from these IT guys cause they said we NEEDED to have it so the lady could work the next day
    and she does payroll for clients so we thought it HAD to be done that day
    fucking bullshit

    they brought a little 15" lcd to install the server with
    i asked if they wanted to sell it
    used old lcd, figured it would be cheap
    they banged us fucking 190 for this used shit heap of a monitor
    1500 to re-terminate the phones and ethernet wires
    200 for the patch panel
    so a total bill of 3K on top of the 7 for the server

    at least its all done right now
    live and learn i guess
     
  10. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    next time, call me. i'll get that shit done and with the cash i save you - you can send me on vacation and still have cash left over.
     
  11. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    yea... info i really could have used a few months ago
    lol
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page