zc or b18a1

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I have a 90 civic hatch with a ZC in it. I just bought a 05 accent and want to start a project with my civic. I also have a B18A1 from a 92 integra sitting in the corner of my grage. $$$ is not a problem and i am aiming for a 9 second civic. I am going to be rebuilding one of these engins from top to bottom with nothing but the best parts. I know that the stock B18A1 is a better racing engin then the stock ZC but what about when the engins ar fully built. Am i better to do the b series swap or is a properley built ZC going to be abel to perform like B18A1? Or should i buy a B18C? Is there much difference in the A and C if i plan on swapping out all the internales and building it as powerful as possible? I plan on racing this car at the local dragstrip and running 30 lbs of boost. I'm new to the honda scene so any help would be much appricated. thanks

9 seconds is going to be damn expensive to reach any way you look at it, but it'll be cheaper and easier with the b18. An LSD trans and slicks will be a must, and LSD is far more common with the B series than the D.

I know it wont be cheep. I have just started tearing the car apart and it's going to be a 2 hopefully, probely 3 year project, from the ground up. I just wasnt to sure of the ZC's full potential. I kinda thought i would have to go with the B18 and i know the lsd and slicks ar going a must. Now how about the B18C, how much better is it then the B18A. if im replacing all the internales is there any point? I have the A but can get a C if its relly that much better thanks