1992 Honda Civic DX 4 door

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

|Chaz|

VIP
I have a 1992 Honda Civic DX. Next summer I plan on performing some sort of swap on it. My question is, is it possible to make my car fast enough to keep up with an RSX type S? Is that reasonable? And if it is, what do should I do to go about it? I am very new to this scene. What would a car like mine with a GSR swap be comparable to?

Would I be better off just saving up the extra scratch and buying an RSX type S? Or can I modify my Civic for a reasonable amount of money including motor, suspension, etc?

I mean I like my Civic and all, I just want to know what is more economical.

Last edited:
get a K24 swap.....2.4 VTEC out of the TSX...youll leave the RSX-S in the dust...although swap will be expensive..i know will i can get you the whole engine tranny and axles maybe the ecu for 2 grand...just let me talk to the guy..u interested

I'm looking more for a B series swap, I was thinking a b18 of some sort.

Keep in mind I'm only 17 and money is definitely an issue. I would obviously have to spend a year so to save up for something like this. But in the meantime I wanted help building a couple of different setups on paper(so to speak).

Last edited:
I'm hoping for at least 200 whp. If more is possible it would be nice. I want enough so that I have a fairly quick car, but not enough that I have to start thinking about beefing up the frame. How reliable would a setup like that be? Because my Civic is my daily driver right now.

So a D16Z6 would run somewhere around $500+ depending on where I got it? At least that's about what I've seen looking on Craigslist and eBay. As for the turbo I have no idea what to look at, if you could give me an idea at what type, brand, etc, I should look at I would much appreciate it. Also what kinda of numbers for Psi would I be looking at? I assume it wouldn't be much.