dash cam

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

jamesA

Thank you for your business.
VIP
Friday I got cut off twice in 10 minutes on the same road, I need a dash cam.

Any recommendations on cameras and storage devices?

I've been running a dash cam every single day since April of 2013. Caught some interesting shit, including a challenge to a cop on I-95 for an "unsafe passing maneuver" that he decided he'd give me a verbal warning after I explained that I had video.

E's site is spot-on.

Personally, I run one of these blackstone dash cams, and it records to one of these SDHC cards. Don't buy a cheap card, it's constantly writing, so you'll wind up replacing it in a couple months. Lesson learned. It's hardwired to the ignition 12v line (same add-a-fuse as my radar detector) with one of these hard-wire things.

That is much cheaper than I expected. I as just talking to my wife about this very subject last week.

"G-Sensor Enabled Recording Occurs as Soon as Any Sudden Braking, Impact, Rapid Acceleration or Sharp Cornering Occurs"

is this selectable? or is this the only way it starts recording?

"G-Sensor Enabled Recording Occurs as Soon as Any Sudden Braking, Impact, Rapid Acceleration or Sharp Cornering Occurs"

is this selectable? or is this the only way it starts recording?

No. it always records, it just "flags" the video segment if there's high g-forces. You have to tune the g-force setting, otherwise it'll save every time you hit a pothole or merge on the highway. Once you get it (takes about an hour) you'd good forever. A flagged video segment won't get overwritten until you delete it manually.

In Maryland, in order for an officer to view the recorded footage, they have to receive a writ of seizure by a judge. Essentially, a search warrant.

You'd have a really interesting case, and I'm sure the ACLU would take up your side.