engine swap possible?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Swift

DIY god
hey guys,

Well my one bud has an Aveo...and well it seems both chevy and honda were in on putting one of a kind crap motors in these little cars.

What i mean by that is WTF is an L15?? So i my question is this...does it come in anything else(like a civic?) and if so does that mean there is a possibitilty of a relatively ease swap then?(minus electronics)

just thought i would bring it up..would be wicked for a k24turbo to fit..lol

swift

Have you read any import magazines in the past year or so? They're always featuring K20-swapped Fits now.

So yes...it's definitely possible.

actually i dont read any import magazines now because of the misinformation written posted or lack of info.(mechanic by trade)

And as stated anything is possible with money but can it be done with OEM mounts being swapped around?Does Hasport make any mounts etc etc...

Sure a magazine can do it but at what cost?

thanks guys!

Why would you quit reading import magazines because of mistakes or a lack of tech info? If you're a mechanic then you should be able to recognize any misinformation and dismiss it. It's not a reason to quit looking at them altogether, because like I said, if you had picked up an issue or two of Honda Tuning you would know that both Mugen and Hasport have done K-Swapped Fits already.

Hasport is working on perfecting a mount kit, so I doubt you can do it with stock mounts. Also, from what I've read, the Fit's electronics are somewhat complicated, and as of yet, there isn't really a great tuning solution.

Just do a Google search for "K-Series Swap Fit". I did and I came up with a whole bunch of stuff on K20a.org.

thanks for the info!