inherited frakencivic

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

j_mullet

Hi everyone!
I recently had given to me a 98 coupe. It currently has a b20 block, b18 head, and trans not too sure yet. There is a mess of electrical to figure out but primarily there is a trans issue.
2nd gear will pop out on deceleration ONLY. It goes in gear without grinding, as long as you accelerate it stays in gear, soon as you let off the gas, out it comes.
The first hunch I have is mounts. I don't want to just keep throwing money at it until I guess right. Any input would be sweet. Thanks.

Sounds like an internal issue with the tranny to me. A fork is probably mis-aligned or something... I'm no tranny expert though

Sounds like it could be the rear engine mount on the firewall. When you decelerate the engine torques forward pushing the bottom end to the back of the car. If the linkage was a tight fit in the tunnel or something then it could be up against the mounting hole or some other part of the car. When the engine torques and pushes the linkage backwards the shifter could be hitting on something and act like you are pushing the shifter out of gear. My other thought could be how the shift linkage is mounted. Does it do it in fourth gear too?

Sounds like it could be the rear engine mount on the firewall. When you decelerate the engine torques forward pushing the bottom end to the back of the car. If the linkage was a tight fit in the tunnel or something then it could be up against the mounting hole or some other part of the car. When the engine torques and pushes the linkage backwards the shifter could be hitting on something and act like you are pushing the shifter out of gear. My other thought could be how the shift linkage is mounted. Does it do it in fourth gear too?

All gears great except 2nd. I know one mount is not good being the front drivers side as it sits. Just not sure on the rear mount yet.