Noob CEL question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

weedmonke

Hi all. I am a complete noob when it comes to tuners, but am trying to help my son out with his 93 del sol S he just bought. A little research has told me that the stock d15b7 bottom end is still there, with a p08-2 vtec head from a d16z6 swapped onto it, and using a p28 ecu. I'm not sure what the engine harness is from, but the plug on the 02 sensor doesn't match up to anything on the harness, and it's throwing a code 1 and a code 4. I know it's the right 02 sensor for the car, the d15b7, and the d16z6 use the same sensor, but even the wire colors in the engine harness plug are not right. I was hoping someone could give me some guidance on how to clear the CEL codes.
Thanks in advance.

O2 is thrown because it isn't hooked up.
You verified that the O2 sensors are the same part numbers between the D15B7 and D16Z6?
The plug may be off a different harness? Not sure.....but maybe a vx?
The code 4 is the crank position sensor. Check the wiring and if it looks good.....replace the sensor.

Had a look in the Rockauto catalog...the same o2 part # is spec'd for the del sol s (d15b7), the del sol SI (D16z6) and the vx as well. The only plug I can find on the harness that's near the 02 sensor has 8 pins, but the o2 sensor only has 4 pins. Is there a way I can find out what the engine harness is from?

For me......its really hard to tell what the harness might be from :shurg:
Has plugs been spliced all over the place?
I had the D16Z6 and O2 was at the end of the downpipe. But on hondapartscheap.com....it shows it near the top of the exhaust manifold :shrug2: but I did verify that they are different part numbers.....although I do believe they are both 4-wire.

95 Civic EX
South Bay Honda - Honda Automotive Parts Store

95 Civic DX
South Bay Honda - Honda Automotive Parts Store