P54 ECU - Difference between auto & m/t version?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

CQB18B

A couple years ago I bought a 1996 Civic DX (6th Gen) with a JDM B18B non-vtec that looks to be maybe 1994-ish, and an SC4, 5-speed trans. I've been using it as a daily driver and it's been doing well in what appears to be a basically stock configuration. The ECU it came with is 37820-P54-900, which based on my research is for a Honda Domani (Accord?) with an automatic trans.

My question is... what, if anything, would be different between the P54-900 ECU for an auto trans and a P54-000 or P54-J00 ECU for an manual trans? Would there be any benefit to switching from the auto ECU to the manual ECU?

It may be obvious by my question but I'm new to this but very interested in the options available with this engine swap.

thanks in advance for any help/input you have.

I did not think one could run an auto ecu with a manual trans. I'm stumped if your ecu is an auto.

I did not think one could run an auto ecu with a manual trans. I'm stumped if your ecu is an auto.

Apparently it can,
P54-900 ECU.jpg
I've got no reason the think the ECU is anything other than what the tag indicates and based on the info found here https://hondaswap.com/threads/honda-ecu-list.29129/

I'm far from an expert but that chip with the orange spot (bottom right) is the location a chip would be. Can guys program an auto to be stick with a chip? I don't know but it seems like the only logical explanation.

A P75 is the popular ECU for your motor

I'm far from an expert but that chip with the orange spot (bottom right) is the location a chip would be. Can guys program an auto to be stick with a chip? I don't know but it seems like the only logical explanation.

A P75 is the popular ECU for your motor