Rev-Limiting

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

ANP320

Hey guys. Im new to rev-limiting. How would i rev-limit on my 2000 civic SI? My friend has a Jetta GLI and he rev-limits all the time. Im sure its probably quite different on a Civic to rev-limit. Can anyone explain? Thanks.

That's just the point where the ECU cuts the fuel supply to the engine.

On 99-2000 Civic Si's (like ours) it cuts out at 8200 rpm.

There is absolutely NO reason to rev to 8 grand, let alone 8200 anyway, peak hp occurs at 7600 rpm. Overreving isn't going to hurt the engine if you do it occasionally on accident... (say... you're merging on the highway in 3rd gear when you think you're in 4th, like I have...)

But just don't do it.

so basically its pointless? i mean his GLI is turbo charged and it does give it extra boost when he rev-limits. but maybe thats just due to the fact that its turbo charged and is a six speed? who knows. thanks.

Yeah it's pointless. I don't see how rev limiting your car gives you extra boost for the shift, the engine cuts off. But I'm not a turbo aficionado.

The only way i can see it helping is when you shift you wont fall as low in the powerband.

in order for you know where your car stops making power you need to go on a dyno...i always shift right before the rev limit for the same reason brc80 gave.....

Quoted post[/post]]
The only way i can see it helping is when you shift you wont fall as low in the powerband.

When you shift right at redline with a b16 and an S4c you fall to 6600 rpm, which is just 400 rpm off the peak torque figure.

My reasoning is I'm not seeing the point of revving past peak power just to get 200 rpm closer to peak torque. You're on the wrong side of the power curve after 7600 rpm, it's going to help you more to fall further down the tach because once you shift your power curve is climbing, instead of hanging where it's falling for those extra 400 rpm.