spun bearing help

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

boostedb16a2

So i just bought a 2000 si with a spun bearing.. need to know where to start and what i should look for. engine has a turbonetics turbo kit on it with Neptune chipped P28. the car starts and has a knock on the bottom end. i know i have to pull the pan and examine the rod bearings get the crank checked and all that good stuff, but what are the possibilities and what should i look for
Im a noob honda tuner and i came across this deal and i took it.. looking for some good advice or maybe even a fresh b16 but i only have little funds to work with. thinking of buying a short block and swapping my head onto that motor since mine is ported and polished.
Pleeeeeease help!!!!! :confused::(

A short block would be the cheapest and easiest route. Though, you never know what the damage is until you look.

Yes, thats the best way to go i think because i am willing to bet there is alot more wrong with it than just a spun brng. but you never know till you look. atleast it starts thats allways a good sign. good luck!!

i spun a rod bearing in my b18a1... and it was totaly garbage... the crank will need to be re polished. the rod is fine bc the bearng dosnt spin on it. but a short block will be good for you unless you will want to spend the monie on a new crank,,,,then u mine as whell get some eagle rods turn the boost up and go

when i bought the car it was already boosted with eagle rods, wiseco 81.5 mm pistons bored .20 over and the head is done.. i think he just for whatever reason didnt do a forged crank or ACL bearings and then he over revved the engine..
Is it hard to break an eagle rod?? or can i buy just ONE eagle rod with ACL bearings??
this car is very clean and only has 69xxx miles on it but he said he got bored with it and wanted a bike so i traded him even up for my 05 gixxer 1000 that needed a clutch and tires so we pretty much had an even trade.