the planing has begun

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

formby

learning in progress
so my boss doesnt use his 2 car garage, so i asked him if after i start the rex if i could use the garage to paint it.. and ill rebuild the bottom end while painting the shell

so he agreed. and said after i painted mine he might want me to paint his acura

keep in mind that this paint job is just to get some color and replace bumpers, skirts and remove small dents [if i can]

i'm going to go with a flat black with satin clear like wills. just because flat black hides some imperfection & i've never done this before....but i'm willing to take my time and learn as much as possible

i'm going to use the john deere black paint like in this thread click me

and i'm going to use a nice primer but i'm not shure which one i'll use....and for clear ill use what ever you guys suggest

.so i started looking for things ill need and some questions came up..

1. what is the best cfm per psi for the gun?
2.should i buy the guns first and then look for a compressor to rent?
3. would these guns work? click me
4. are there any brands or types of sand paper i should buy?
5.what primer, flat clear coat?
6. is a metalic color harder to spray?
7. would it be wise to buy the compressor, or should i rent one the days ill be spraying? and what size? i might paint a couple cars if i do a good job
8. would it be better to do all the prep work and take it to maaco or a cheap shop and have them paint the car with a top and clear coat?

ive made a similar thread about this before but now i have the time and money to do it...also ive been researching and reading but i would like some direct feedback before i start this adventure...

discuss :cool:

Flat will hide but when you put the satin on it will start to show some imperfections. They show as much as a gloss would.