Understanding the '92 - '95 Civic CX and VX

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

manderson99

What were the major differences between the CX and VX Civics between '92 and '95? I understand that the engines were different (d15b8 for CX, d15z1 for VX), but what else? Didn't the VX have 13" alloy wheels or something, and if so, what did the CX have at stock?

I don't own a Civic yet (this is still up in the air) so I'm a bit new to the models and their differences, so any help for this nub would be appreciated. Thanks!

They are both economy models with next to zero horsepower, but they both get incredible gas mileage.

I know the VX had aero mods, such as a rear diffuser. It also has Vtec that is tuned for fuel economy instead of power, and also has a Lean Burn mode that allows the motor to run very lean while cruising, which sips gas. As well as roller rockers to reduce rotating resistance in the motor. The CX has none of this, but still achieves incredible fuel mileage.

The VX has 92hp, and the CX has 70hp. The CX, I know from owning one, is horrible to drive. Less pep than a 3hp go cart.

Last edited:
They are both economy models with next to zero horsepower, but they both get incredible gas mileage.

I know the VX had aero mods, such as a rear diffuser. It also has Vtec that is tuned for fuel economy instead of power, and also has a Lean Burn mode that allows the motor to run very lean while cruising, which sips gas. As well as roller rockers to reduce rotating resistance in the motor. The CX has none of this, but still achieves incredible fuel mileage.

The VX has 92hp, and the CX has 70hp. The CX, I know from owning one, is horrible to drive. Less pep than a 3hp go cart.

Interesting, so the VX has a modified body for lower CoD? I knew the engines were different (non-VTEC vs VTEC-E) but that was the only thing of which I was aware.