02' Civic Ex Man NA Upgrades

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Apollyon02ex

I am new to working on cars. However I just purchased my Stock 2002 civic ex sohc vtec and was curious what i can do to get more hp out of this engine. I have been reading a lot about it and it seems a lot of people believe this engine to be a piece of a shit. Most suggest swapping a k-series engine. However i don't have the 10G to spend.

At this time at least, i am not interested in forced induction because I am currently going to college and can't afford to constantly maintain a turbo. I am just curious to know what upgrades i can put into this car to get a more hp. Also i am more interested in Accelleration, more so then top speed. If thats important to know..

Please help, and i know you know a lot more than i do on this subject so please inform me of anything i may or may not know, or that i said incorrectly.

Thanks in advanded,

Jeremy

I've been looking into intakes for my car. I found a new V2 intake for 285 price matched at procivic. However i can get it used for 120 on ebay. Just put a new filter on it and it should be fine. However I'm not sure if the V2 is the best for my car. According to The Tire Rack - Your performance experts for tires and wheels (click link for direct to my car info on intakes. It shows that aem's short ram intake will provide an addition 6.6hp and the V2 short ram giving 5.5hp. And it's half as much.

Does anyone have any information on intakes for my particular model, or have any links to people who have tested more then 1 intake on my 02 civic ex with dynos? Any information will be appreciated greatly.

Thankyou,

noob tuner, jeremy