1987 Civic Hatchback Swap options?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Psycho0124

3g Civics have hot asses
Vehicle Specs:
• 1987 Honda Civic STD Hatchback
• 4 Speed Manual Transmission
• Stock aside from clutch, intake and exhaust, and

Engine Specs:
D13A2
Found in 1984-1987 USDM Honda Civic/CRX 1.3
• Displacement: 1342 cc
• Power: 60 hp @ 5500 rpm
• Torque: 73 lb*ft @ 3500 rpm
• Bore: 75 mm
• Stroke: 76 mm
• Fuel Control: Carburetor
• Valve train: 12v

I have been driving my ol 1987 Honda Civic for nearly 10 years now and have noticed some troubling symptoms starting to develop over the last year or so. The motor runs like crap when its cold out and acceleration is getting more and more jumpy. I have started to see more and more oil on the #3 spark plug and I am betting that its compression is shot although I haven't tested it yet. The valve train on the motor is getting damned noisy as well so I am betting my valve guides and seals are worn out. I guess after 20 years of stalwart performance, the motor has every right to be a little worn...

:worthyp:
MyHonda.JPG

Anyway I have a couple thousand bucks to play with and I have been considering 2 options:

1. Find a used head
(maybe a 16v head from a D15A2?) and give it a good rebuild and PnP and put it on when I've got it just right (and hope the bottom end is ok).

2. Find a used motor that will mount up with minimal modification and rebuild it over time. New pistons, seals, bearings, balanced crankshaft etc.. If you have the motor in hand before the vehicle needs it, theres a lot you can do to add performance.

I am sure I could find another D13 to put in but if I am going to go to the trouble of pulling the motor, I would really prefer to put in something a little beefier. After some research, my first thought is the following motor:

D15A2
Found in:
• 1987 USDM Honda Civic/CRX 1.5,• 1987 USDM Honda Civic/CRX HF
• Displacement: 1488 cc
• Compression: 9.6:1