1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1987 Prelude SI help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by Civic_Tacoma, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. Civic_Tacoma

    Civic_Tacoma Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm looking at buying a 1987 Prelude that has apparenty had the timing belt slip on it. Would I be safe just replacing the timing belt & water pump, or should I swap? If I should swap....what engines fit in this model? All I know is that the car is a 5-spd and is a 2.0 SI. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. 2fastaccord

    2fastaccord Senior Member

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    I would recommend doing a swap in that case. The car was built almost
    2 decades ago, the engine is probably on it's last leg. Often times
    when the timing built break engine damage is done. The pistons will
    seize up into the valve, which means you will have to rebuild the motor.
    On an engine that age it would not make sense to rebuild.
     
  3. Civic_Tacoma

    Civic_Tacoma Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Any ideas on what engines will drop right in?
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    B20A5 drops right in, and i have heard of people H22 into the engine into the car, but i dont know if it requires new mounts.
     
  5. Civic_Tacoma

    Civic_Tacoma Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Are you 100% sure? I've heard that the 88-91 B20A5 will not fit, but the '87 JDM B20a will.....I'm so confused. LOL
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    nope not 100% but i figure the b20 engine mounts are the same on the a1 and a5. If there is a tranny problem with the CRV tranny, use yours from your lude.
     
  7. birddog1148

    birddog1148 Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    I have an '86 that is a dirt track car and the guy I bought it from put an A20A3 motor from a '88-'89 Accord in it. But the mainshaft in the tranny is now screwed up so I need to know what trannys will bolt up to an A20A3.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page