1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2k rpm

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by madteggy, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. madteggy

    madteggy New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    does ne one know how too fix idling
    my engine idles at 2 1/2 to 3 k rpm
    wat sensor would it be
     
  2. hooligan

    hooligan New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    ATL
    As far as i know from messing with my throttle body--

    - there is a screw that can turn idle up and down under throttle cable on the TB but id doesnt sound like that unless someone pranked you and screwed it in. lol funny stuff

    - the sensor on the side the (tps) throttle position sensor can be moved if its bolted on but it wont mess with the idle like that( i've done it before to get a little more fuel) but if its broke or put in incorectly then it will affect idling like you say.

    - not sure if the sensor on top(MAP) will affect your motor like that

    Really sounds like you have something else wrong other than you TB

    thats all i know, are you running any codes? have any other info?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  3. madteggy

    madteggy New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    im not runining any codes checked again my idle is at 2k will drop if i turn on ac im runing ls v but had the same problem wit my ls im not sure wats wrong i had put my ls tb on b16 mani
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    have you worked on the car recently?? could be a vacuum leak. .. take you IACV off and clean the screen
     
  5. hondarin

    hondarin Please enter a value using 50 characters or fewer. VIP

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas; where else?
    is your throttle plate closed when you're not pushing on the accelerator? there is some room for adjustment on the throttle cable.
     
  6. EF9_boy

    EF9_boy New Member

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Location:
    TX
    if its not throwing codes and since you swapped it you might mess with the throttle cable.... give it alittle slack and that should take care of it but if not you might mess with the TPS
     
  7. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    first check all of the vac. lines.
     
  8. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    long shot but it would be the throttle cable itself, for some reason one day mine kept sticking open and it would be at about 3k when it was at idle, I sprayed some wd40 on it and it was fine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page