1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 wire o2

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by Bobby17772, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    I'm planning on installing a wide band o2 sensor in the very near future, and I'm wondering how do I do this using a pm6, I read the write up and all I've been finding is to use a p28. I was wondering if I could just chip my pm6 with either a p28 base map or just tune my pm6. I still want to keep it obd0 for a while. thanks for the help
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    Leave your stock o2...
    weld in another bung for the wideband and just run the wideband as a gauge, not as the reading for your car.

    you probably don't want to leave it in all the time anyway... wideband o2 sensors don't last very long before they are too sooted up and don't register correctly.
     
  3. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    oh thanks, I didn't know they didn't last long. so what should I do just get a little screw in so when I'm not using it just screw it in?
     
  4. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    1 person likes this.
  5. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    actualy I just remembered, I bought a full exhaust and installed it the other day and on the cat there are two o2 bungs. could I just use those or is it a better idea to have it closer to the exhaust manifold?
     
  6. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    That would be fine, its not like the exhaust gasses are excaping at the header and they wont make it to the mid-pipe, sorry for the douche comment.
     
  7. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    no it's cool, I just wasn't sure if there was a "better" place to have it, I know some people that have it on the header itself, others that have it on the down pipe, others that have it on the cat and I just wasn't sure if one was better over the other or not
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    right before the cat is the best place. it will get the most accurate reading from all runners
     
  9. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    thanks! would it make a difference if it was after the cat? because on mine it has the 2 bungs after the cat itself before the flange to the straight pipe? get what I mean, I kind of worded it odd
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,452
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    yes, do not put the wideband after the cat. it won't be an accurate reading.
     
  11. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    You can order a chip from xenocron or I could burn you a custom one if you like? I would recommend xenocron though unless you want to burn a EEProm with your own setup, but he can provide all the parts and information for tuning with a wideband. You would need a chip or kit and datalogger, you can always use a a/f gauge to see if it's lean or rich though. Turboedit is the only tuning software I know of that is opensource for free on a OBD0 Ecu. At least the most stable one to use anyways. I am running my own tuned map on my pm6 with zero problems. Are you running a A6, Z6 or Y8? Vtec or what does your setup look like? I am interested in learning here.
     
  12. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    well right now I've got the d15b2, but I'm getting a z6 head this sunday. I've got an si dizzy and a z6 intake manifold.
     
  13. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
  14. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
  15. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    lol that's a good one
     
  16. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    I shall call him mini-me!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page