1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5 speed swap into auto 90 teg, computer question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by broadway7272, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. broadway7272

    broadway7272 Junior Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    hey guys,
    i'm swapping my auto 90 teg with a 5 speed. i read in a magazine for a nissan swap that you have to loop your computer in nuetral, does anyone know if this is the same case for hondas and if so what the procedure is. also if anyone has done a similar swap are there any other issues that i should be concerned about.
    thanks, joe
     
  2. Walshie

    Walshie New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Just get a 5-speed ECU brotha
     
  3. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    You're converting the car to a manual right? if you are then yes there is wiring that needs to be done.
     
  4. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    There is a little box that your auto shifter is connected to underneath the center console. Just leave the setting in park or neutral so the car can start...simple. I did the same thing when I did the auto to manual conversion in my old civic.
     
  5. nikozai

    nikozai New Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Yeah don't forget back-up switch wires to turn on your reverse lights.
    Checkout this how-to, it applies to your chassis as well. If some wires are diff. colors at the shifter, let me know.
    Auto to manual write-up: Rywire - Online Store
     
  6. broadway7272

    broadway7272 Junior Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    thanks for all the help. hopefully i can do the swap next weekend.
     
  7. broadway7272

    broadway7272 Junior Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    oh forgot. does anyone know if the axels are the same. and if i can keep my auto computer.
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    axles are, the intermediate shafts are not. you will need to use the MANUAL intermediate shaft.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page