'86 CRX Swap Question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

jseaton325

Hey guys, so I'm new to the CRX game. I had a buddy that owned this car and i wanted it so bad, dude knew nothing about it. I love old school Honda's and my very first car was an 87 prelude Si...love at first site. Any way i got the CRX from him for 100 bucks after he broke the camshaft in half!

So the carb EW motor is gone, now its swap time. I need some help, i've read hundreds of things on swaps for the rex, but i have a unique situation. I got this crx for one thing and one thing only. I need a track rat, i love love love Honda power and how they sound tearing up a track. Drag strip to be precise. I do not care about down time, I have a daily driver and the crx is just setting in the back yard right now.

I have an obsession with the K20 motor, but have read that it's a huge project and won't fit very well in the 1st gen rex. But I want to know what would be best, not necessarily what i want.

I have a budget thats flexible around 1200 bucks, as of right now and could buy some now and some later. I have really good engineering skills, and have availability to machine shops and fabricators.

Sorry this is so long, but i wont be posting much just want to see what some guys who have experience with this would say. Thank you guys for any help, please no flames i just want some help!

Yeah i've seen a full k20 swap bear minimum is 6k so yeah i know, i just would love to do a N/A k20 in an old school crx. I would still like to go N/A with whatever i end up getting.

moz-screenshot.png
IMG_0830.jpg

I just love the way this looks, i mean come on! But what are some other options besides the k20, that i could do and get some respectable power/torque numbers

z6 swap, homemade turbo kit.

can be done for 1200 bucks and will likely get you to 225-250 hp