1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

92 civic d15z1 vtec-e [=

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by HondaElite, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    i was jus wondering if i could change my vtec?? i tried using a d16z6 ecu but when vtec is supposed to hit it just jumps..does anyone knoe if i can change the soleniod to a d16z6 one? or if i would have to chip the d15z1 ecu?
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Wow. Bad idea dude.

    The VTEC-E system is design for fuel economy only and you need to run the Z1 ECU. It's pointless to move the VTEC engagement point because it's preset at the optimal RPM from the factory.

    If you want a regular VTEC system, you need to swap the head for a D16Z6 or D16Y8 head.
     
  3. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    but i heard if i do that i lower my compression alot..and it is then pointless unless i run a turbo setup..is that true?
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Compression ratios can be changed via pistons, head gaskets, etc. There's no way you're going to be able to make your VTEC-E work like regular VTEC. A head swap is your only option.

    Besides, people swap the Z6 head onto the 1.5 blocks all the time. If it didn't increase performance, no one would do it.
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yes, the Z6 will drop compression a few points but will still make more power than the Z1 head. There are many different ways to up the compression: swap in P08 or PMS(GX) pistons onto the stock rods, or swap in P29s with D15B1/2/7 rods.
     
  6. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    what if i was to get the head shaved..and went with d16z6 high compression pistons? would that be a decent setup??
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The D15Z1 head is very restrictive. It's designed for low-rpm efficiency and has tiny ports. Also, you'd probably run into clearance issues if you throw D16 pistons in that block(unless you use D15B1/2/7 rods, compression will go up like .5 points). People bump compression up in their D16's by using P29 pistons. With the Z1 head, you may run into clearance issues with those(different combustion chamber shape).
     
  8. HondaElite

    HondaElite senior member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    fall river.mass
    i meant the d16z6 head with the d16z6 pistons...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page