1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 EG gsr no V tec

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by sleeper759, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. sleeper759

    sleeper759 New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    For some reason my motor wont hit vtec. I have all the extra wires ran for the Vtec solenoid, Vtec pressure switch, knock sensor and evap solenoid but still no vtec.
     
  2. youngracer

    youngracer New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Check harnesses wires...see if everything is plugged in and no loose wires hanging..
     
  3. sleeper759

    sleeper759 New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    i checked harness wires and all seems to be right, so i dont know what else to check.
     
  4. youngracer

    youngracer New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    what kind of ecu do u have?cause if u dont have an v-tech eu.then v-tech wont engage.
     
  5. sleeper759

    sleeper759 New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    I have a p72 ecu. Would vtec not work because of the engine throwing codes 14 and 20?
     
  6. JDM_EK9R

    JDM_EK9R all motor

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    central, NJ
    lookup the codes. you may have wired vtec to the wrong wire. also check your oil pressure. insufficient supply of oil will cause vtec to not engage.
     
  7. sleeper759

    sleeper759 New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    The codes are as such 14 (idle air control valve) and 20 (Electric load detector). I do have the Vtec hooked up to pin #4 on the ecu which is correct and the engine has enough oil so i assume the pressure should be good.
     
  8. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Idle Air Control Valve..
    Its on the bottom of the intake mani. towards the back, it has a plug and i think a coolant line running to it, take this off clean the screen plug it back in. start the car, unplug it see if it has any effect on the idle, if the idle shoots up then ur good if it doesnt move at all.. you may need to repin the ecu (not sure if u have to on obd1)for the new computer to recognize this or you will have to get a new iacv. make sure u try resetting the ecu in between steps
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page