1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

94 delSol S Oil problem

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by ukf, May 17, 2006.

1. ukf

ukf Junior Member

Hey guys,

My name's Danny. I'm new to hondaswap.com so I'm not entirely sure if I'm posting this in the right section. I tried searching for an answer to my question on these forums and didn't really find anything about it.

First off, I have 94 delSol S and I put a AEM Cold Air intake on it. Havent really had time to put the bypass valve on it, but it hasn't been a problem - i think... Whenever it was raining pretty hard down here in Baton Rouge, LA - I thought I sucked up some water into the engine, as it turned out, that wasn't the case - the car worked fine after that for about 2-3 hours. Next morning I went to start up the car and it started backfiring and sputtering, trying to stall out. I got to a shop and as it turned out I had water in my distributor. So I changed that out, and the car seemed to work perfectly fine for about a week. Then it started backfiring whenever I'd simply rev the engine. I check the oil - it was almost gone. So I added some oil, the car started running fine, but then after about 150-200 miles, the engine ate up about a quart of oil. There's no leaks, no sign of anything wrong, except for the oil just disappearing - I'm guessing it's an internal problem.

So here's my question - is this serious? What could be the problem? And how much longer would you guys think I have left on that engine (I'm at about 106k right now). If I do need an engine swap - how much would it cost (and I'm sure a lot of people have asked this already, just haven't researched it yet) to get a new engine with a swap - either b series (what would you recommend? a b16a1, etc.?) or should I go with a h22?

Sry about so many questions and thanks in advance,
    Danny L.

2. GSRCIVICTN

GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks