1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

97 accord non VTEC to VTEC

Discussion in 'Accord' started by embassy world, Jan 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    I have a 1997 accord ex with tranny problems, i bought a 1997 ex-r that rolled over for its engine and tranny, leather interior blah blah now the problem lies that my original accord is not a vtec engine , but my new accord is the vtec, they are virtually the same car otherwise minus sunroof and leather, can the engine be swapped easily? what problems will i encounter???
     
  2. f22b1 coupe

    f22b1 coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    I take it you are in Canada- anyway fo ahead and drop it in, super simple swap, you only have to wire one wire in for VTEC, everything else is a direct swap. You will have to change out ECU's but look around in the FAQs and it tells somewhere here how to wire VTEC.
     
  3. 34diesel34

    34diesel34 Import Tuner

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    The cars are the same. The engine is a direct bolt in. You will need a vtec ecu or an rpm activated switch so vtec will work, and you need to wire up the vtec solenoid, and vtec pressure if you use the vtec ecu.The distributors may be different on the vtec/non vtec. If they are you'll need to buy a jumper harness from rywire.com or you can make one so the distributor wires are a direct plug in.
     
  4. f22b1 coupe

    f22b1 coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    The distributor IS different for sure- VTEC/EX has an internal coil, the LX/non-vtec has an external coil, but every motor I've ever bought came with the distributor.
     
  5. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    so....i can get my friend to do the engine swap but he says he doesnt want anything to do with the wiring...i am a novice...am i capable of doing it my self i do know where the ecu is located
     
  6. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    the v-tec engine is still installed in the rollover car and drives really well, just the cars roof is crushed
     
  7. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    and worst case scenario if i cant get the enigine swapped are the trannies compatability
     
  8. f22b1 coupe

    f22b1 coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes, the tranny will bolt right up, that will be no problem at all. If you are just wanting the tranny, and your current engine is fine, just say what the hell and do a tranny swap. Trust me, I have done two tranny swaps in 5th gens and 1 engine swap, and I can assure you that the tranny swap is less involved (if only slightly) and you're better off leaving the engine alone unless you have a good reason to pull it out.

    I always tell everyone while you have the transmission out (and the exhaust downpipe off) do the following seals to save yourself an asshurt later:

    Engine Rear Main Seal
    Transmission Input Shaft Seal
    Oil Pan Gasket
    Distributor O Ring Seal (Be sure to use a utility knife to score the ear of the distributor and the ear on the head so you can get the distributor right back in the EXACT same spot)

    Then if you haven't done your timing belt I'd consider doing that too if you want to be sure you aren't going to have to turn around and replace the engine anyway if it breaks.

    If you do the timing belt job, here are the parts I always replace while doing it:

    Valve Cover Gasket
    Camshaft Seal
    Crank Seal
    Balance Shaft Seal
    Tensioner Pulleys
    TIming Belt
    Balance Shaft Belt
    Water Pump
    Thermostat

    Then if you want to be sure the cooling system will never leave you stranded you can replace the 3 heater hoses and 2 radiator hoses- I've had a heater hose that was only 11 years old burst on me, under normal driving, so I would take those seriously while you already have one off doing the transmission.

    If you have any more questions let us know, but while doing major things its a good time to do the minor things as well.
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    The wiring is easy as hell. As was previously stated, all you need to do is add wiring for VTEC. Everything else should be fine. DON'T do a VTEC switch, that's old school and retarded, especially when you have access to the correct ECU...
     
  10. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    hello brutal lol i got a problem i did the full swap engine and tranny ...i sued all the wiring off the engine and harness and connected to the car wiring to the ecu... i also changed the ecu ....i fiugure because i had the wiring off the engine i would already have the proper wiring blah balh but... my check engine light is on and lo and behole vtec solenoid ELECTRICAL!!!!! i dunno wtf to change or what yah yah add wiring for v tec but how in the hell do i do that i need easy to understand terms thanks guys
     
  11. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    i used all the wiring****
     
  12. embassy world

    embassy world New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    alright guys i got her done i switched the vtec into my non vtec accord it was a basic swap..it was not easy per say, but if you know how to do a swap its very simple...my only piece of advice is to run a wire to the pins that connect to the ecu to the connectors that wire in your engine harness while the engine is out... it can be done otherwise but i can imagine how mucg wasier it would have been ...my engine light is off and the car runs great..........so thanks again for tghe help ....let me know if u have any questions!!!
     
  13. f22b1 coupe

    f22b1 coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yeah if you could get a picture of where you wired it in, that would be great, I'm not sure if anyone has ever uploaded a pic of that before. If you how the location and color, you will save a lot of people a lot of time- hell that would be worth stickying the thread for IMHO. People do VTEC swaps all the time and ask that question.
     
  14. DCMC Lizard

    DCMC Lizard New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    I know it's been a while, but I'm swapping my non vtec to vtec in my 94 lx. I still have both cars and just spent 2days after work removing entire harness from the 94 ex. Any pics would be nice for the wires and colors
     
  15. lowbravada

    lowbravada New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    off topic but how hard would it be to put a vtec out of a 95 integra into a 97 accor 2.2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page