1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

After a Break, Jumping back in, 92 VX Head Swap D15Z1

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Spyderturbo, Aug 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spyderturbo

    Spyderturbo Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    Hey what's up guys, been a while since I've been on here but sadly, it's been a while since I've had a reason to be. My last swap project was my long gone 94 CX into which I put a D16Z6. Anyway, now I am about to get a 92 Civic VX Hatch! I'm psyched. I'm gonna pass on doing a B series but I really want to do a head swap. Ive read that the D15Z1 bottom end responds well to a Z6 Vtec head, giving a motor that spins nicely to 8K and throws out about 130HP at the crank I imagine. Has anyone done this swap? I know the 5 wire to 4 wire Oxygen sensor will be needed if I run a P28 but I might use the VX ECU at first. Just wondered if anyone else has done this swap. I did a search but didn't see much....
     
  2. Spyderturbo

    Spyderturbo Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    nobody else has input on this?
     
  3. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Get a P28 ECU. They're not too expensive. The VX ECU will be mapped really funny (but it will read the wideband O2)- but if you can chip it with Uberdata or something, it might actually be better (tuned) than swapping straight to a P28.

    StealthMicro- you have completely the WRONG ECU for a Z6. The PR4 is a non-OBD ECU without VTEC control.
     
  4. Spyderturbo

    Spyderturbo Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    Calesta, thanks for the input, I was planning on the P28, I know I just need to run the O2 wires then, I was more curious about clearances and comp ratio's, I've heard that putting a Z6 head on a D15Z1 results in lower comp due to the dished pistons in the D15Z1 block and the larger combustion chambers in the Z6 head vs. the stock Z1 head. I think some people use PMS? pistons when they do this swap, I know the D15Z1 bottom end is supposed to be very good compared to the other D series bottom ends. Just wondered if anyone has tried this combo and if so what the reults were....
     
  5. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    :lol: ya beat me to it. Hey stealth go get a p28. And ditch the LS ecu.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    D-Series Engine Building Notes

    I've never tried it, but there's a link that might be able to help you out. The Z1 pistons are very deeply dished. If you want to try something crazy, you could try to drop in another set of pistons and still use your Z1 head, then have a cam custom ground for more performance on the Z1 too.
     
  7. Lowazzhatch

    Lowazzhatch New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Try just swapping your cam and ecu. Im running the d15z1 in my 95 vx hatch. I got a cam from my buddy's D16z6 and swapped in the P28, that swapped me to reg. VTEC. As for pistons Im running the dome tops out of a ZC. Im also using a after market intake mani with a b-series TB and the injectors out of the Z6. I think all together I got about 70 bucks invested and about half a day of work. Makes a big difference.
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Are you sure? The Z6 cam won't fit in the Z1 head.
     
  9. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    Where Do Z1 Cams Come From Curious?;)
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  11. 1988hondacrxsiR1

    1988hondacrxsiR1 Banned

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest
    z1 from what car year and code of car duh? admin w/ a big stick and why i have a red dot for my reputation i dunno what is the deal please help? thanks ;)
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    You have a red dot because you have no rep yet. People give you rep points if they feel like you deserve it. Read the FAQ about it- I'm not even sure exactly how it works.

    Admins aren't here to be technical resources- we're here to run the board.

    As far as the D15Z1, it came from the 92-95 Civic VX hatchback.
     
  13. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    That is the vtec-e which is mainly for fuel economy and not performance. All it does is shut down two vavles in low RPM.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2007
  14. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    this thread is over a year old.. let it die again
     
  15. dtob

    dtob New Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Didn't even notice that. Yup its gone.....
     
  16. Ic3

    Ic3 Newb Engine Swapper

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa Ont
    I think you have -negative rep.. I am new around here aswell but I have watched you post whore double posting every 3rd one pretending it was an accident. Also some advice you have given was false and you have posted almost non sense on some threads.

    Ic3
    -EDIT- Well it appears you are banned so looks like I am post whoring now ;)
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    appears you're posting in a dead thread

    [/thread]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page