aftermarket tach. light dims when dash brightens

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

GSRCRXsi

Super Moderator
VIP
ok so ive had this tach installed for a while. ever since ive had it, the light has been burned out. well i just recently got a new bulb for it and niticed it was REALLY dim. so i started playing with the dimmer. and when i turn the dimmer to to brighten, the dash lights brighten, but the light on the tach gets dimmer, and vice versa, when i dim the lights, the dash dims, and the tach brightens. WTF is going on here?

when i wired the illumination light up on the tach, there were 2 wires for the dash lights. did i hook it up to the wrong wire? is that the cause of this?

lol...youre asking this question.......

Okay, not like it wouldnt happen to me too, but just kinda unexpected. I have no useful input but, that sucks.

yea i know. 99% of the time, i know what im doing, but i dunno what happened here. i think i just used the wrong wire, lol.

when i was wiing it up, i was looking at the wiring diagrams for how the dimmer works and basically all it is is a potentiometer (variable resistor) between the bulbs and ground, and as you tun the nob, you change the resistance in the circuit, dimming and brightening the lights. i wanted to retain the dimmer on the tach BUT the tach only has one ground, not a seperate one for the light. so i think i hooked it up to the wong wire, and now its backwards. and i think to retain the dimmer, id have to have the light fully integrated into the circuit, with its own ground.

sound right?

sounds right to me...but youd think as the circuit changes resistance it dim no matter what...doesnt seem right for it to be opposite.

yep, well that was the problem lol. now the tach is on full brightness when the lights are on. since its not hooked to the dimming circuit.

but damn the tach is bright. wish i could dim JUST the tach, or set it up seperately. hmm