1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All spin no fire!!!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by gohan128, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. gohan128

    gohan128 Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    I bought a 1994 civic ex with a blown block. I bought a 96 y7 to put in got it put in and all but it'll spin over without firing, no diagnostic codes, fuel pump works only when jumped off, distributor isn't getting power when key is in ignition. Sounds like a grounding issue i got the one from the valve cover, and the one from the thermostat. I was told there should be a flat wire for a ground to the back of the block, but I couldn't find one so i made one with wire, well still nothing....Any ideas or suggestions. There is a crankshaft sensor on this block however the z6 doesn't use it so it shouldn't be a problem.....
     
  2. Underage

    Underage Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    are you using the ecu from the 94 ex?
     
  3. gohan128

    gohan128 Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2004

    yeah i'm using everything from the ex just the 96 block is the only thing that's different
     
  4. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
    What gauge is the wire?
     
  5. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Did you do an OBD conversion? Which way?
     
  6. gohan128

    gohan128 Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    I'd say around a 12 guage, but i put it in the shop cuz I was tired of it, the guy worked on it all day on the phone with honda and all and the only thing they came up with is that my ecu has gone bad. Junk yards want 500 for a damn ecu F*** that! So now I'm asking what is the best ecu to buy? where should the vtec be set and rev limiter for a basically stock engine.

    Conversion? It didn't need one.
     
  7. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Umm you swapped a obd2 engine into an obd1 car. If you didnt change anything on the motor then this is why you car won't run.
     
  8. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    If he's just using the "block" with the old head, it should work.
     
  9. robspeed005

    robspeed005 Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    as long as you used just the short block (just crank, cylinders, etc.) out of the D16Y motor the swap should work. But if you use the intake manifold you have to get a jumper harness. At least that the coversion I've made in the past. I've put the SOHC VTEC in a 91 civic before with the 91SI intake manifold. ECU's are on ebay for about 400$$ less than you think. If you can't find one let me know. If the ignition swith worked before then I doubt that it's bad now. I've never seen an ECU or and ign switch go bad. It's probably something extremely simple. I've been through 3 distributers on 3 different honda motors though and that would cause a "no fire". When you do get fire you want to fogging oil or a little motor oil in the cylinders or you'll have little to no compression too. "NEED COMPRESSION FOR COMBUSTION"


    Rob
    Primetimeimports
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page