1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alternator whine

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by monty92, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i started to get an alternator whine after i got my ls/vtec installed. i have my power wire and rca/speaker wire down different sides of the car. i put my power wire through a different spot and that didnt fix it. any ideas?
     
  2. efalex

    efalex New Member

    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Danville NH
    what kind of alt r u using?
     
  3. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    I had the same issue! I forgot about it and then rememberd it and it was gone. I did get a new fuse and redo my ground wire. Try that.
     
  4. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    its just the factory alternator. i got a 4 gauge power wire. im going to try re grounding it tom and see if that'll help. thanks
     
  5. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
  6. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    tried re grounding it and its still happening. could it possibly be the alternator is just wearing down i dont know if its been replaced.
     
  7. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    I really don't think it's your alternator . Try to seperate your system remote wire away from the power wire. Also insted of grounding the wire from the deck to the ground wire on the plug, wire it directly to a peace of shaved metal on the frame or fire wall ect.
     
  8. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i already have the remote wire away from the power i ran it with the rca's. could it possibly be the wiring for the vtec that goes into my ecu cause i got an ls/vtec and this whine started?
     
  9. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    where do you have it grounded at?
     
  10. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
  11. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i used the bolt for the back seat as the ground.
     
  12. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    hrmm u shouldnt have engine noise then. take some sandpaper and sand some of the paint under where the seat bolt is to get a better ground. also, are you running the same gauge wire for the ground as you are for the wire going to your battery (i also hope you have an inline fuse on your battery wire for your amp. if not GET ONE)? if not you need to. also, you dont need to have a long ground wire going from your amp to where you are grounding it at.
     
  13. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    if it started after the motor swap then its not your radio. Its definitly a grounding issue so reground the entire motor and battery again.

    motor
    tranny
    battery

    did you mess with the radio while power on and accidentally ground it? If so you might need to ground loop the radio.
     
  14. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i didnt do the swap i had a shop do it. and i have a 4 guage power and ground. i think i might need a new power wire cause its got a thin insulator on the wire. its got a fuse block inline. i havent tried regrounding the block yet. im gunna gut the interior and clean up the wiring.
     
  15. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    ok just to make it clear. your getting alternator whine through your speaker or just a whine from the alternator.

    power wires wont do anything. Its a grounding issue if its coming through your speakers.
     
  16. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    i sent out my alternator to get checked it might be a diode issue.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page