1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Turion?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Dustin_m, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    is this processor junk or not? is it like amd's lower end one, like the Celeron? The motherboard on my Dell took a shit like three days ago and won't read any hard drive. It would be about $350 to fix it, or about 6-700 for a new board. I don't want to fix it because who knows when something else will happen, so it looks likt i will be buying a new laptop.

    I have seen a few with the turion processor but don't really know if its any good.
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It's AMD's current (sorta) low power consumption mobile processor. It's not bad, but if I was buying a laptop right now, I would get a Pentium mobile setup. What's your budget? Used IBM ThinkPads are REALLY good for the money- you can get into a decent one for $600.
     
  3. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    as mike said, its just amd's line of mobile processors. i dont even think they sell single core turion's anymore.

    and word, if you get a mobile processor, choose an intel dual core. there are 3 flavors and is listed here in terms of best to worst:

    1) core 2 duo (usually a t7xxx)
    2) core duo (usually a t5xxx)
    3) pentium duo (usually a t2xxx)

    all 3 outperform anything amd can offer at the moment and the real difference between the 3 are the level of caches and fsb. if browse the web, chat, papers, etc... the pentium duo are fine. if u game, encode media, photoshop, the core 2 duo's will offer up to 20% more performance than the lesser 2.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i have the turion 64 in my laptop. works good.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    core 2 duo for sure. it runs a bit hot though!
     
  6. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    For a laptop the Core2 could be a bit much heat wise - but you guys forgot the Centrino Duo. Unless they stopped calling it that.

    Im just sure some stupid company would still be putting desktop processors in laptops because their customer base is a bunch of fucking retards.
     
  7. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Most users wont be able to tell the difference between amd and intel processors because most do basic tasks which arent cpu heavy.

    also, if you look at the voltage and tdp of processors from each company, they differ very little from 3-4 watts max higher (intel). so heat isnt that much a difference unless youre running a freaking P4.

    but yeah, basically choose whatever you can afford and if all equal in specs (pricing, ram, etc) except processor, choose the intel.

    btw: centrino isnt a processor:D its a platfrom that encompasses the chipset also, much like intel viiv and amd live.
     
  8. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    And yet they typically referred to it all as Centrino - therefore when you call it a Core 2 Duo it confuses me. Mostly because I assume you can use a non-mobile optimized configuartion - like a desktop - just shrunk down and battery/power hungry as ever.

    Just for the sake of battery life I push toward Centrino/whateverthefuckyouwanttocallit.
     
  9. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    good to know. well i remembered reading that the new amd's aren't that great compared to the intel chips right now, so i checked out some other systems.

    what i need it for is running CAD, some 3d software, and thats about it other than the normal stuff like internet, music, and such. I usually have CAD, Firefox, and Winamp running at any given time, plus maybe some other stuff, so i don't want something too slow.

    Here's what i'm looking at now. it seems to be nice, and everything is double what i have in the broken laptop.
    Acer Aspire 5610 15.4" Widescreen Laptop PC w/ Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080 - Wal-Mart
     
  10. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So i am looking at an Acer laptop that has the Pentium duo. I can order it online with the T2080 processor (1.73 ghz) or get it in store and not have to wait till next week for it, but the in store one is the T2060 (1.6 ghz). how much of a difference will that .13 ghz make? they are both the same price, and i want to pick one up before the weekend because i need to do some schoolwork on it, but if its gonna be something i regret, then i guess i gotta wait
     
  11. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    well i couldnt really find a direct comparison, but if you look here:

    Mobile CPU Charts | Tom's Hardware

    and look at the difference between two yonahs and meroms with a delta of .166mhz, the faster ones usually come out 10 secs in most tests than the slower ones.

    so in most scenarios, there wouldnt be a difference, but lots of cpu intensive work, the faster ones provide a 8-10% led.
     
  12. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    thanks. Yea i'm gonna go ahead and order it and be patient. Hopefully this thing is gonna haul ass with XP running on it. That will be the first thing i do when i get it as i have no desire to run Vista other then maybe to play around and see what its all about, but i'm definitely not going to depend on it to work as my main o/s.

    BTW, anyone have anything against Acer? I had a hard time finding reviews on them, but the few i found had good things to say, and i didn't find any other computers in that price range that had 2gb ram and that big of a hard drive.
     
  13. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i ALWAYS at the least have the following running

    cisco vpn client
    outlook
    thunderbird
    winamp
    aim
    skype
    msn
    avg
    maudio sound dock
    7 or 8 firefox tabs

    and my cpu is about 10%
    i have the amd turion 64 (i think its the 52 processor... i forget)

    with all that open, i can run my recording software as well... no issues.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page