1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another Knock Sensor Question

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by randerson165, Nov 7, 2003.

  1. randerson165

    randerson165 Senior Member

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Can you bypass a Knock Sensor at all so I can pass DEQ ???? I need to fix this problem tonight. I bought a KS from somebody off here and it was no good. If I put a meter on each end of the knock sensor (sensor end and connector end) will there be continuity ? If yes, my ks is def. bad. Can I bypass this or repair the sensor at all ? HELP !!!
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you can run a different ecu which doesn't look for a knock sensor...

    give us more detials on yoru setup
     
  3. randerson165

    randerson165 Senior Member

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    I'm running a stock '99 D16Y8 with I/H/E and cam gear.
     
  4. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    stock Y8 uses a P2P which shouldn't look for a knock sensor at all. What ECU are you using to run the Y8?
     
  5. randerson165

    randerson165 Senior Member

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    I believe it is the stock Y8 ECU. How can I check ? does it say what kind it is on the ecu somewhere ?
     
  6. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC

    Look for a sticker w/ a code on it , then post what it says. If you bought the car w/ no modifications then it is more than likely the stock unit. :D
     
  7. randerson165

    randerson165 Senior Member

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Yeah, I bought the car new. It says P2P, and it does look for a knock sensor. Is there anything I can do ?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page