1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

another knock sensor question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by hondaflr, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. hondaflr

    hondaflr Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    i recently bought a knock sensor to try fix my cel problem, but when i when to replace it, i found out there was no wire connected to the knock sensor because it was broken. so i went out and bought one, my problem is they do not sell the connector to attach to the ks. they say it comes with the cpu harness. do i go buy a whole engine harness or what do i do. swapped motors from 95 accord to 94. so im pretty much cluess here
     
  2. ohmstable

    ohmstable Senior Member

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    take the sensor and go to a junk yard and try to match it up with a plug. There's a few connectors that will probabaly fit it.
     
  3. sleepn_accord

    sleepn_accord Senior Member

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    if you're stuck just use a regular connecting cap, it should fit over the KS nipple just fine..
     
  4. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State

    yeah, just like these guys said. That's probably THE MOST COMMON connector I can think of on a honda engine. They use that style connector on the IAT, both fan switches, the VTEC solenoid, the knock sensor, and the ECT. If you don't know what those are, look in a manual or click my siggy. :)
     
  5. hondaflr

    hondaflr Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    thats just peachy:> ill be running optimal performance soon :> fun fun fun.
    now i can actually start upgrading the motor now. i have parts laying around just waiting. didnt want to stick anything in this motor till all my cel codes are gone. thanks guys
     
  6. hondaflr

    hondaflr Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    now that ive made a connection with the ecu and the knock and its installed. Im

    getting intermetent knock sensor codes. ive tried retarding my timing, doesnt

    help, ive checked my timing, everything seems o.k tried 94 octane, didnt help. My

    last choice that ive been reading is getting a sheilded wire, but i cant seem to find

    where i would beable to get one, and what type. if anybody could help me on that,

    would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State


    Welcome to the dark side. You can use shielded audio cable. It helps slightly, but this is a common problem. I can slow down the frequency of getting codes, but I haven't been able to extinguish the problem yet.

    Search under "knock sensor pissing off"

    I have a whole thread dedicated to that cocksucker. Don't kill yourself trying to fix this. Just plan on using a chipped P28 later.
     
  8. hondaflr

    hondaflr Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    that was my next solution was trying the sheilded wire, cause i can go like 100 km without it coming when im on the highway, i get around 60 cruise speed, bam, it comes on, so im going to try the audio sheilded, and go from there. if not, im going to have to start reading up on p28 chipped, but they say the car wont run as good with it then the p13:(. and i read your post on that knock sensor pissing u off. hehe. so last change for knock if not, i have to go p28 chipped :(
    thanks
     
  9. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State

    You'd use the P28 chipped with P13 fuel and timing maps, so it would run fine.

    Shielded wire may help.

    I can go quite a distance without my code popping up also. You are more likely to cause a code while making a gentle pull uphill. Even the Helms says to troubleshoot the KS by making a pull between 3-4k for 10 seconds. At a cruise, you're not likely to cause a code. ;)
     
  10. hondaflr

    hondaflr Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    You are correct, that is exaclty what happens, so im going to be trying the sheilded wire today, i went to best buy today and bought a top of the line sheilded wire. freaking expensive, but if that doesnt work, then i will have to go chipping the ecu, witch i have no clue on doing, so i plan to go to a shop to get it done, any suggestions anywhere in Toronto?
     
  11. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State


    go to PGMFI.org
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page