1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone ever seen a 4 plug obd1 ecu

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by slopoke, May 29, 2004.

  1. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    I have a jdm obd1 ecu with four plugs all have pins It is manual and has two rows of pins. Part number 37820-p13-J00-555-101542 1F16 J-MT It throws a traction control code 36 (according to HT) but just wondering exactly what it came from I know it would have been a vtec lude and the didnt make a OBD2 P13. I bought it from Nippon Motors.Thanks
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    4 row = auto ecu dude.
     
  3. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State

    If you are OBD 1, then your ECU should look like the pic. Even the P13 Auto only has 3 plugs at the ECU. I am 100% positive on this. The picture doesn't lie. This happens to be a F22B1 Auto ECU in the pic, but the Prelude and Accord ecu's at least look the same. I don't know about any others.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    how do you put in the picture I will take one for you. I did find out that on the J00 part means J (japan) the first 0 is manual transmission. If it had a 5 for the first number it would be automatic.

    www.ag-eng.com/ecu_ident.htm is where I found the info
     
  5. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    If your P13 has 4 plug locations, most likely one is for either the auto trans, OR it is possible you have the uber rare traction controled ECU.
     
  6. Jim Truett

    Jim Truett Senior Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Is there a date code on the ECU? This could be similar to ATTS on the 5th gen USDM 'lude.
     
  7. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    the only number on the date code I can read is 9. I know its obd1 and for a manual tranny and its a p13 but everyone I talk to says its not possable to have four plugs on a obd1
     
  8. Bl6CRX

    Bl6CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    UCLA

    thats right, my friend had the same thing happen when he got his motor...
     
  9. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    I have an Auto, and have replaced three auto ECU's. I have not seen a four plug ECU yet.

    If it is a special traction control or ATTS ECU, great, but it is not a standard OBD1 auto ECU, period.
     
  10. HardLowrdRanger

    HardLowrdRanger Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ


    There are OBD1 P13s with 4 plugs... as a matter of fact here's 7 JDM P13s I have in front of me right now... They are indeed all OBD1... Notice the 3 ECUs at the bottom... ;)

    ***Picture Removed***

    EDIT: to take the picture out of the quote...
     
  11. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State

    Ok, now I've seen one. So what is that fourth plug for? Is it for a special automatic or traction control?
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    As mentioned before.
     
  13. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Now I know Im not crazy. or I still might be. Now that the pic is up we need to know why it has four plugs. Maybe thats why I am throwing codes for traction control. Anyone have a pinout for this ecu
     
  14. mathondamn

    mathondamn Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    is the p13 4 plug ecu for a 4ws prelude?
     
  15. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    Thats a very good possability. didnt think of that but the rear steering is computer controlled. Anyone want to trade a USDM p13 for a JDM P13 (four plug) My A/F guage reads funny with the JDM ECU
     
  16. mathondamn

    mathondamn Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    does anybody know what has to be done to a obd2 motor to put it in an obd1 car im having problems with the ignition system on my h22a can i just buy an obd1 dist with the internal crank trigger
     
  17. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    :cockblocked:

    try a new thread yO.
     
  18. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    was told today the fourth plug was for traction control.
     
  19. slopoke

    slopoke Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    SOUTH CAROLINA
    ag engineering confirmend the fourth plug to be for traction control on jdm models
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page