1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apexi vafc controller

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by PHOBIA, Apr 17, 2004.

  1. PHOBIA

    PHOBIA Senior Member

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    on my list of things to get is the apexi vafc controller.a friend of mine has one on his b16 crx and showed me that you can drop vtec engagement all the way down to 3000rpm.i have a b16a in my 91 hb and i was wndering if i was to get my vafc controller and set vtec at 3k would it harm anything? is it something that should only be tuned before a race? what are the ill effects that it would cause? little help :blink:
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You can't just tune it before a race. You need to get it and your car on a dyno, with wideband o2 and tune it. You can experiment with lowering or raising your vtec, but don't go that low, and don't go by the butt dyno.
     
  3. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,020
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :withstupid:
    bring it to a dyno
    have it set
    forget you even have the VAFC (ie: DONT FUCK WITH IT ANYMORE)


    the ONLY thing that will happen by dropping the engagement that low is you will bog the fuck out
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    On that note, I reading about setting the vtec changeover, and one way that was suggested is to do one run with it on the lowest changeover point, and another on the highest, and then overlay the two dynos, and where they meet, set it there.
     
  5. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    and 3000 rpm isnt good thing. the lowest point you want vtec id say is at 4400(which is what a lot of the obd-0 chips use)
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    It's not set to run there, you do one run there and one run high and the theory is where those two runs cross, is the perfect spot in the powerband for the changeover. I've never done it, but might try for shits and giggles.
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,020
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yeah ive heard the same thing
     
  8. PHOBIA

    PHOBIA Senior Member

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    were would i go and how much does dyno time cost usually?
     
  9. B18Civic95

    B18Civic95 Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    3k is way too low. I say 4500-5000 is a good range. Really depends on your mods aswell
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page