1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARGH, Popups on HS while using Firefox

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Cashizslick, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Ok, everytime i log on to HS. I get these stupid popups from some "z1.adserver" thingy.

    Is there any way i can get rid of these or do i have to just live with it?

    thanks in advance, Cash
     
  2. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    oops, i shoulda put this in the computer section.

    -> move


    me = :deadhorse:
     
  3. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    This post belongs in our Computers, Games, Electronics etc Forum. Please look for your post there.

    :moved:

    Thanks,

    The Moderating Team
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there is one pop up per 24 hours via a cookie set to your machine. if your machine doesn't accept cookies, it will pop everytime.

    ads suck, i know... but hosting this site costs almost 100 bucks a month.

    unless we make a move to a pay-per-month membership, or a mandatory donation or something, instead of free, ads will always be a part of this site
     
  5. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003



    yeah i know B, but is there anyway for the browser to block them? Like, i thought a plus with firefox was that it didnt get popups and now im getting them. . . . .
     
  6. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    IE let's me block all pop ups. It beeps instead. To open a new window, I have to hold down the CTRL button at the same time as clicking on a link. Kind of a pain once in a while, but worth it. It's under tools,privacy tab, check box for blocking popups, and click the button for settings.
     
  7. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003



    Yeah i use firefox . . .
     
  8. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    yes firefox can block pop-ups , possibly under a tools menu, or preferences
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    block our ads, and i don't get paid, and hondaswap gets closed.

    thats really all there is to it.
     
  10. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003



    Ok, for the sake of b i will allow the daily violation of my computer with pop-ups :lol:.

    -> its cool, ill do it for H.S.
     
  11. micah

    micah Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    panama city beach, florida
    mozilla blocks most pop ups by default, but there are "pop unders" and floating pop ups and junk that slide through in the way they are coded.
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah, it's just a pop-under. Let it load and then kill it. You don't see it anyway- it hides under your browser.
     
  13. Prowler

    Prowler Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    B MT
    What's weird is a month ago I NEVER got ads. Now all of a sudden Firefox is allowing them on various sites. *#$&)@#$
     
  14. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State



    so how much money per person do you get for these ads?

    Is it 10 cents per view or click? I remember when you asked everyone to click on an ad or two for Hondaswap's sake. I did. I just don't like involuntary anything. I like total control over my browsing, while maintaining functionality and user friendliness. Hell, I'll send you $1 if you make my computer immune to the Hondaswap ads....... :)
     
  15. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003


    I don't get popups or popunders with Firefox. Ever. Hell, I didn't even know Hondaswap had ads until I went over to a friend's place and logged on.

    Linux Firefox shouldn't be any different from the Windows version though... weird.
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    perhaps, i could set up a premium membership thing...

    but i don't have time any time from now till like june.. so don't expect it soon.
     
  17. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,931
    Likes Received:
    735
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'd rather just deal with the popups and click a few ads.

    I don't follow them I just click them then close the window. takes all of 2 secs
    if only I did it more often =)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page