1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AT to MT conversion

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Dahootie35, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. Dahootie35

    Dahootie35 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    i have a 93 civic ex (auto D16z6 non vtec) and i'm converting it to manual... i bought another engine (rebuilt D16a1) out of an 88 integra... i wanna know all of the parts i need for this to go smoothly as possible... am i going to have to buy D16a1 parts or D16z6 parts? i know i need the clutch master and slave cylinder, shift linkage, i already have the pedals... is there anything else i need... any info would be really appreciated... thanks
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    What's wrong with your current motor? And what exactly are you trying to do? Are you wanting to covert to manual and swap for the Integra motor at the same time?
     
  3. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    If you really do have a D16Z6, then it is VTEC. :D Unless of course they make one that is non-vtec and well, that would be new to me. Perhaps you have a D15B7? That would be non-vtec.

    Just like Brutal asked, what is it that you are trying to do? Swap out engines, convert your current engine to manual? Your goals are vague and kind of unclear.
     
  4. hondavet

    hondavet New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
  5. Dahootie35

    Dahootie35 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    well i heard bad things about an 88 integra motor so i'm not gonna put it in there, so i'm just going to convert my engine (D16Z6 non- vtec... yes there is a non vtec, its an EX not an SI) to a manual...

    I have the tranny, pedals, slave and master cylinder, short shifter, shift knob, clutch line, and i need to get a clutch kit and flywheel), is there anything else?

    i just wanna eventually rebuild it, and possibly make around 200 hp, so any advice on converting it from AT to MT, and parts for rebuilding it would be appreciated ... thanks
     
  6. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    the d16z6 is a vtec motor, just because you dont have an si model doesnt mean you dont have vtec
     
  7. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    You have to be quite confused with what motor you have then, if you are telling us that the D16Z6 is non-vtec. How do you figure it is non-vtec? What is the code stamped on the engine? Granted, you may not have a vtec valve cover, which is quite possible, but I'm sure you have a vtec solenoid. Do you know where the solenoid is located? If you don't, it is behind the valve cover, by the distributor...right around there. Heck, take pictures and post them. I have never heard or seen a Z6 non-vtec...but there is always a first for everything.
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    :werd:

    There is no such thing as a non-VTEC D16Z6. If it doesn't say VTEC on the valve cover then it's not a Z6. Check the code on the block (it's located to the left of the exhaust manifold right underneath the head) to find out what motor you have...
     
  9. Dahootie35

    Dahootie35 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
  10. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Kinda hard to tell from the pic but Im 99% sure that would be yer vtak plug right there yepper. And for the the AT to MT conversion I think you need an aftermarket mount for the tranny
     
  11. Ric Gardner

    Ric Gardner Ricsrx

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    OK, I am new to this forum because i just did the same swap this week.
    1. yes I had to weld up a new motor mount for the tranny, simple if you have a welder.
    2. I purchased a non vtec doner car for all the parts, Honda's are great, every thing but that motor mount was a bolt in.
    3. did the electrical and thats where my problems started.
    I installed the clutch switch and the assosiated relay for the starter circuit-- no problem car starts.
    installed the jumper to tell the car its in park so i can remove the key---works great!!!!

    Started the car, engine light won"t go out!!!

    drove car around, runs rough, but the clutch and tranny are great!!!!!!

    pulled the code's-------

    6---engine coolent temp
    19- automatic lock up solinoid
    21-VTEC solinoid
    22-VTEC pressure switch
    41-o2 sensor ( heater)

    it appers that maybe i have a poweer loss somwhere.
    did i damage all of these components during the swap.

    any help would be great.
    Ric
     
  12. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Did you swap to a manual transmission ECU? I'm guessing not, since you're throwing up codes that have to do with the automatic transmission...
     
  13. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    thatd be your vtec solenoid...but my question is what made you say it wasnt vtec?
     
  14. Ric Gardner

    Ric Gardner Ricsrx

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008

    can i run the 5 speed donor car ECM even if it was not a VTEC?
    or can i run the donor car ECM just for trouble shooting my code problems?
    Will i need a Vtec, 5 speed ECM to compleate the swap?


    Sorry for stealing the thred but i wish i would have asked these questions befor i started, I have a bad habit of jummping into these projects
     
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    You can run a non-VTEC ECU and that will probably eliminate the error codes as a result of the auto tranny issues, but you may still have some error codes, and the car obviously won't run optimally (and you won't have VTEC).

    The best solution here is to use an ECU from the manual transmission version of whatever motor you're running, or have your stock ECU (or some other ECU) chipped and tuned to operate your current setup...
     
  16. Dahootie35

    Dahootie35 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    h22 into 93 civic coupe

    what will i need or to do for an easy install with a h22 in my 93 civic ex?... cut, drill? anything would be helpful
     
  17. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Search on this dude, it's been covered many times. Go to Hasport's website and look at the installation instructions that they have for their H22 mounts. It should give you some idea of what would need to be done.

    Did you ever finish your auto-to-manual swap?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page