1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

autometer 5""tach green wire

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 95sir, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. 95sir

    95sir Senior Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    where does thre green wire go on the b16a motors.. I need details please...
     
  2. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    It can go to two places. You can do the following...

    Plan A

    1. Open up your distributor and remove the rotor and dust cover.
    2. On your coil, if you look carefully, there are going to be two terminals, one that reads (-) Negative and (+) Positive.
    3. Unscrew the wire thats on the negative terminal and add the Green Tach wire along with the existing wire thats already there.
    4. Screw it all back together, dust cover, rotor, and cap, start that mofo up and you have yourself a RPM reading. Simple as that.

    Plan B

    1. If you have helms manual for your model engine, look up the stock TACH wire on your harness and splice it in. But both methods work the same and Plan A is easier.
     
  3. Prowler

    Prowler Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    B MT
    on my car, the splice into the harness did not work. and it's recommended/easier to use the - terminal on the coil.
     
  4. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York

    Yeah i feel the coil terminal is easier too, but i have done it the other way.
     
  5. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    blue wire at distributor
     
  6. gocivicls

    gocivicls Senior Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    forest city, NC
    Get a volt meter and test different terminals on the back of the factory insturment cluster. I believe it is a blue/white wire on the right plug looking at the back of the cluster.

    When you rev the engine the voltage is negative, I think!!! Just look for one that varies when the car is reved. By the way you don't have to have a factory tach for this signal.
     
  7. dok

    dok Senior Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003

    THIS GUY IS RIGHT i JUST DID THAT TWO DAYS AGO
     
  8. daveLafleur

    daveLafleur Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    go to your ecu....find ing signal wire....splice that......done that 3 times........works everytime
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page