1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A ECU Problem

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Inseino, Jun 24, 2005.

  1. Inseino

    Inseino Junior Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    I picked up a 90 CRX Si with a B16A2 swap. The main problem here is that I don't know the whole history of the car. Everything looks alright, but I've been having problems setting up the timing. Me and my buddy switched the timing belt, but we can't seem to jump the service connector to set the timing. I noticed the the car's got a B16A PR3 ECU. Now is it even possible for a B16A2 to run properly with such an old ECU? And if so, is it possible the wiring wasn't hooked up correctly? Please help me out. Thanks!
     
  2. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    B16a2 is obd1 or obd2b if from a udsm civic Si, check the conversion harness the wiring could be wrong.
     
  3. Inseino

    Inseino Junior Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Yeah, it should be OBD2, but in this case its OBD1. I started ripping up the wire harness just to check it out, and it looks like the harness is the stock harness that came with the CRX. I went to look at some wiring diagrams and I noticed that there is a lot more stuff cross connected with the service connector in the 99 Civic than in the 90 CRX. So my question now is, can the OBD1 PR3 really work properly with this engine? And if so, then back to my main question, how the hell do I setup up the timing on this car? We tried it again, and it seems to do the job for the first hour or so of driving, and then it goes all out of whack again. And I'm positive the tension and everything on the belt is perfect.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    pr3 is NOT obd1. it is obd0.

    it is the first gen b16a ecu. it will run any b16 just fine.
    BUT, your electronics on the motor need to match.

    you will need an obd0 distributor, peak/hold injectors w/resistor box, obd0 VSS to match the obd0 ecu. obd1/2 parts use a different pulse width
     
  5. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    VSS? speed sensor? or what is it? cant i use the obd0 on a obd1 ecu?
     
  6. Inseino

    Inseino Junior Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Oooooooohh, now that makes sense. Well, I want it to be OBD1. So could I get any OBD1 ECU and just connect it using an OBD0 to OBD1 conversion harness?
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    yup- pick up a p30 or p28 if you plan to chip it, with the 0->1 conversion harness, and keep your obd1 electronics.



    yes, vss = vehicle speed sensor on the tranny.
    no, you can't use obd0 on oa obd1 ecu... they transmit a different pulse width.

    basically, its a rod that spins for every revloution of the tranny. each rotation it spends out a voltage to the computer. the obd1/2 voltage is different than the obd0 voltage. thus, they don't match each other and shit gets wack.
     
  8. Inseino

    Inseino Junior Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    I guess I'd better go with a P28. From what I was reading, the P28 and P72 are the best ones to use with Uberdata. Also, how do I go about checking if my distributor is OBD1 or 2? Also, what are peak/hold injectors w/resistor box? And I also read that I need an O2 sensor with 4 wires coming out of it instead of just 1? I just want to double check all this so I can get everything I need asap.
     
  9. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    wow. so could the vss make my car go crazy at a given rpm? or would it just give a false mph?
     
  10. BrydogSIR

    BrydogSIR JDM EF8

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    It will not allow vtec to engage.
     
  11. BrydogSIR

    BrydogSIR JDM EF8

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    And your speedo will not work
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page