1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16a Head

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by hoemahgoodness, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. hoemahgoodness

    hoemahgoodness Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Ok, if anyone can help this would be great.....my friend asked me to take the head off his b16 so he could get it cleaned.... when he brought the head back from the machine shop, i put it back together....after torquing down the head bolts and everything already he pulls out one of those metal dowels that go into the bottom of the head....i only saw one dowel when i was re-installing the head...now he has another one in his hand that he said was in another bag and he didnt see it...How important are those dowels...one is in the head right now and the other one is sitting on my workbench...does water flow thru those dowels?will it hurt anything if i just leave that one dowle out, or do i need to take the head back off and put it in there?
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Whether it holds it in place or aids in transfer of oil,it is there for a reason,put it back.
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  4. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    lol. thats like asking:

    "do i need to put in all the mounts when i do a swap?? the rear one is hard to get to."
     
  5. 2003-s

    2003-s Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Me personally...I'd leave it out.....the guide pins are to help the head seat correctly. if you have ONE, there is only soo much the head can move on the head bolts, and once torqued, it won't move............................. If you put it back you WILL need to get a new head gasket, once you compress a head gasket you DON"T want to use it........some have re-used with luck, but do you feel lucky for a $40 part. I wouldn't worry about it. It's not like you are leaving out a HEAD bolt.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    well, don't balme me when you blow a head gasket then.. :ph34r:
     
  7. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    do you think honda enginers put it there for fun ?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page