1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a2/3 swap to 93'coupe, OBD PROBLEM

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by r.2, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. r.2

    r.2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    i have the b16a2/3 engine from a civic 99' SI i think the engine is a OBD2, i want to swap into a 93' coupe, but the 93' is obd1??, i will need the conversion harness??, another think the tranny of the 93' can be work whit the b16a2/3 or i will need the 99' tranny???? :(
     
  2. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY
    what trim of civic do you want to swap it into? if its an ex or si then you can use the stock harness and the stock ecu and just get it rechipped. if its is a dx or lx you can still use the stock harness, you just have to add a few wires for the vtec solenoid, the solenoid ground, and oil pressure sensor. you will need to get either a p30 ecu, or a p28 chipped with the p30 programs.

    as far as the tranny, you will need any b-series hydro tranny. anything from a 93-97 civic del sol VTEC, 94-01 integra, or a 99-00 civic si.

    you could also us the older b-series transmissions, but you would have to get a hydro to cable clutch conversion kit. these transmisions would be from USDM 90-93 integra's, or JDM 89-93 integra's and crx's.

    happy swapping. :thumbsup:
     
  3. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    you will need to do some rewiring to make the engine work with the car... search and ye shall find that info

    you have to have a B series tranny with a B series engine, your '93 engine is a D series.... won't work

    do some searching, and reading of other posts for a while and you will learn alot
     
  4. r.2

    r.2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    I have the b16a ECU, but the engine is ODB2 (from a '99 SI), and the car is a '93 DX coupe OBD1 ( i THINK IS A OBD1. I AM WRONG?), i don't want to buy the conversion harness because i have all the '99 SI (is a CRASHED CAR), i want to Know if i can do the swap using a couple of wire from the '99 SI, to avoid the OBD PROBLEM
     
  5. darwins_vtech

    darwins_vtech Senior Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    99-00 B16 .... OBD2
    93 civic......... Obd1

    No matter what you do you need to buy a conversion harness, IF you use the B16 ECU. If you take your EX ECU and have it chipped to run like a B16. then you don't have to buy a conversion harness. then you can sell the B16 ECU to make the money back that you spent to have it chipped.

    Darin
     
  6. saturn_boy96

    saturn_boy96 88 C1V1C 53D4N DR1V3R

    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sheridan, WY

    here i added a few things to make it read more clearly.
     
  7. kmvue

    kmvue Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    YO, dude u is not alone in this shit, i am having a hell of a problem with my swap too. My setup is 99 Si going into 92 hatchback dx, and its a fu*kin nightmare. well, wat I have found out is U is gonna need, to go stay obd1 for the engine to stay more powerful, becuase ob1 does not require knock sensor, so instead of a wiring nightmare, u will have to go buy a 94-95 obd1 DelSol distributor for your obd1 harness to fit, .....But I still gots 1 problem, u gotta help me find how to rewire the alternator or get a b series obd1 alternator, then everything should fit. But i still need some help with vtec wiring, im not a honda guy, imma toyota guy, and this is just going to be my daily driver as i am still building my mr2 turbo...

    PLEASE HELP ME??? U HONDA BOYZ!!
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    :emofo:
    yuo suk at teh english


    "where am the crack?"
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You can get a complete intake manifold (injectors, MAP, TPS, etc...) and a disributor from a 94-95 Del Sol, and you're good, you'll also need to get either, as mentioned above a P28 chipped to DOHC vtec specs, or a P30 from the Del Sol.
     
  10. kmvue

    kmvue Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    ok, thanks, for the info, but now I need someone to help me wire up the alternator. If anyone know how to do wiring please reply back.
    Also to that BIATCH Esolsi he can go suck a nut, because my english is fine I went through 3 years of college english courses already and that was just my short hand, so that racist ass can go f**k his momma too.

    To everyone else, Thanks
     
  11. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    racist????? eat a fucking dick asshat

    how in the fuck do i know what fucking race you are?????

    i dont... nor do i give a fuck

    i also dont give a fuck how many english courses you have taken

    no one here gives a fuck about "YOUR short hand"... save that shit for talking in PMs to YOUR friends... all typing like that does is make you look like an ignorant fuck

    but judging by your next post, and how quickly you tried pulling the race card... i would be forced to guess that you are just an ignorant fuck

    so..... take that chip on your shoulder and go fuck yourself in your (insert your race here) ass

    :whatafucktard:
    :bash:
     
  12. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    uh oh...looks like somebody's "warn" level just increased...lol



    oh yeah, as far as the original topic,


    you can use your stock harness. you might have to add a couplea wires.

    any b-series hydro tranny.


    boo-yaa!
     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Wow, no better way to show that you are an ignorant, useless fucktard than to go and do that. I guess you is cheatn da system because if u made it thru skool liek dis yO, dan u need a refuund.
     
  14. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    yea i totally warned him!! my first time ever using it!!
    thanks for breakin the rules buddy.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page