B16A3 bottom end with GSR head?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

delNightmare

OK, I admit this is more because I have the parts laying around than me coming up with some well-thought, diabolical plan.

I am rather new to the Honda scene (I'm a Subaru guy by nature), but I bought a del Sol that I am prepping for autocross, and I'm looking at a couple directions as far as build goes.

I see a bunch of B18 lower ends with B16 heads, but how about the reverse? I have a complete GSR motor right now, and I have a sleeved-B16 lower end (82mm). I am considering putting the GSR head on the B16 lower end. I am primarily looking for a N/A application, but a power adder is not out of the question, although I would prefer it to be a supercharger (autocrossing and turbos don't always mix well).

Any thoughts on the feasibility (or stupidity, lol) of this hybrid?

i would bore out the b16 to 84mm ( if possible) and slap on the gsr head with a new IM.....

you will gain about .2:1 in compression over the b16 head. other than that, there's really not too much difference "out of the box" if you were to just use a b16 head.

personally, i'd just use the straight GSR. the sleeved block is worth more to sell, and the end result will probably be similar power-wise.
plus, na, you don't need a sleeved block really (ubnless you're going real large on the bore.... but 82mm is not a large bore)

Quoted post[/post]]
you will gain about .2:1 in compression over the b16 head. other than that, there's really not too much difference "out of the box" if you were to just use a b16 head.

personally, i'd just use the straight GSR. the sleeved block is worth more to sell, and the end result will probably be similar power-wise.
plus, na, you don't need a sleeved block really (ubnless you're going real large on the bore.... but 82mm is not a large bore)