1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A3 bottom end with GSR head?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by delNightmare, Sep 27, 2005.

1. delNightmare

delNightmare Junior Member

OK, I admit this is more because I have the parts laying around than me coming up with some well-thought, diabolical plan.

I am rather new to the Honda scene (I'm a Subaru guy by nature), but I bought a del Sol that I am prepping for autocross, and I'm looking at a couple directions as far as build goes.

I see a bunch of B18 lower ends with B16 heads, but how about the reverse? I have a complete GSR motor right now, and I have a sleeved-B16 lower end (82mm). I am considering putting the GSR head on the B16 lower end. I am primarily looking for a N/A application, but a power adder is not out of the question, although I would prefer it to be a supercharger (autocrossing and turbos don't always mix well).

Any thoughts on the feasibility (or stupidity, lol) of this hybrid?

2. formby

formby learning in progress

i would bore out the b16 to 84mm ( if possible) and slap on the gsr head with a new IM.....

3. brian11to1

brian11to1 Senior Member

My buddy Vince did it in his 93 Integra. It was pretty sweet.

4. pissedoffsol

pissedoffsol RETIRED

you will gain about .2:1 in compression over the b16 head. other than that, there's really not too much difference "out of the box" if you were to just use a b16 head.

personally, i'd just use the straight GSR. the sleeved block is worth more to sell, and the end result will probably be similar power-wise.
    plus, na, you don't need a sleeved block really (ubnless you're going real large on the bore.... but 82mm is not a large bore)

5. delNightmare

Good advice. I would have though it was just the opposite on the compression ratio, but that's cool.