1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16a3 in 99 Si???

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by FutureITRCiv, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. FutureITRCiv

    FutureITRCiv Junior Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    A friend of mine owns a 99 Civic Si. not too long back he blew his motor. He purchased a replacement, but for some reason they sent him the b16a3 from the del sol. his car ran fine for a good week or 2, now it seems to have no power gain at all, especially where vtec is supposed to kick in. could this have anything to do with the obd 1 -> obd 2 wiring ?
     
  2. darwins_vtech

    darwins_vtech Senior Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    yeah it probably does. I don't think that it would have even pluged together. the distributor wires would all be different. so I am suprised that it runs. tell him to purchase the OBD1 /2 conversion harness. I think that would take car of it. I am not positive though. what do you mean no power gain. can you even feel the vtec? does it through any check engine codes?

    Darin
     
  3. FutureITRCiv

    FutureITRCiv Junior Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    im not sure at all really. i just know he sent it to the shop, they did all the work, and he got it back. its now overheating too. i just think he tore the hell out of it and blew another head gasket. i figure the shop knows all these things and probably did the job right, but that shop is also known for sabotage :(
     
  4. blkhonda2000si

    blkhonda2000si Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    B16a3 is that from the del sol si?????
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    No the Si had the D16Z6, the B16A3 was in the vtec model.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page