1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B16A3 into an 92 integra

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by gablagloire, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Hello everyone, I have just purchased a 92 integra and for some reason it has a B16A3 engine under the hood. What are the advantages of this? I love the Vtec, but think that the 1.8L engine would of been a bit more powerfull and mod worthy.

    let me know what you think.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well yours has more hp the b18 would have had more tork but thats all
     
  3. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    ok, thats what i thought.

    What about the LEGAL part? I live in california. Do you think I have to REF the car, or should it just pass smog?
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    it will have to be reffed (that engine isnt a huge deal since it is an american engine). As long as there is a p30 ecu and all the parts are stock (and there) on the engine, you should be fine.
     
  5. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Last time i went to REF a damn car, the guy was really strict about every little detail, then like 4 days later, my car was stolen! so now i have this integra.
    At least i dont have to smog for another 2 years.

    So far, it has DC headers, K&N filter, and the rest is stock.

    does anyone have a diagram of exactly how the engine should be stock? I happen to have the manual for the integra engine, but not the B16A3 del sol engine.
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    eg6sir probably does. he got his b16 reffed after a billion trys.
     
  7. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    ok cool, i PM'd him.

    Anyone know why someone would go through all this trouble to add just a few hp to their car?

    (i bought the car like this)
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    got your pm and i replied.. i see its for a 92 teg.. well, to tell you the truth.. i'm not sure.. if it were a 92 civic i could tell you what you need to do.. oh and if the carb # and part # for any aftermarket part doesnt match the car/motor then it will fail
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea.. that was only because i couldnt pass the smog part.. i passed the visual the first time i went back..
     
  10. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Well, i ordered the K&N filter, and i know 100% that the carb number is correct, but for the headers, It has no carb sticker! i got the car in this condition, and i guess i have to buy new headers.
     
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    if its a DC header then it'll be carb legal.. and have a tag welded on the 2nd pipe. and the part # is on the flange inbetween pipe 2 and 3.. yes, they check that stuff.. i had a header on that the carb # matched and it had an acura part # so he failed me..
     
  12. fasterimage

    fasterimage 2 SLOW CREW

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    State College, PA
    wow,am i glad i live in a state where they just look at ur brakes, headlights, and turnsignals! if they work your good to go for another year. Dont think i'll be moving out to the westernside of the country anytime soon.
     
  13. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    shit, then i better check the number, i know it says DC headers on the bottom near the cat. does it say the CARB number there? my car is lowered so its a bit hard to tell just from looking under and it would be nice to know this before jacking the car up. thanks!
     
  14. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'd look for a part #.. the carb #s should be the same for b-series

    Acura header will start with AH
    Honda header will start with HH

    and it'll be on the flange that connects to the head
     
  15. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
  16. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    I now have a bigger problem. My car makes a loud noise when i hit the gas but does not have power at all!!!! i hit the gas fully on the freeway and it goes up to 60mph and not any faster. Do you think that it could be the headgasket that was already bad?
     
  17. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    its possible, but shit like that is usually fuel or tps problems.
     
  18. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    ok thanks! because i do have an extra throttle body and will change it today, i will let you knor if it works better.

    new problem. there is a beeping noise in the car after i change the seats, yes i did hook up the wires from the seatbelt box. but when the passenger door is opened, the beeping stops! what is going on?
     
  19. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    ...got nothin. hahahaha.
     
  20. gablagloire

    gablagloire Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    I changed the throttle body, but there are no hoses to run to anything on it except the intake, the car never had anything connected. how do i correct this?

    the bottom of the intake has the tps but no hoses go to it. Where do these hoses go to? what do i do?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page