B18b -> Del Sol Swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Dr_Jay

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this engine swapping thing and I have a few questions, though.

I have a 93 Del Sol Si and my goal is to keep it daily driven, but have approx 250 hp in it (at least enough to keep up with my cousin's SR20DET Silvia :D )

I'm itching to do a swap and need to know a few basics and also know what considerations I should take. I'd like to use a B18B and turbocharge it, but I don't really know the first thing about swapping. Is this engine compatible with the stock Del Sol transmission? What other parts do I need besides the engine?

I've also heard things from a few of my friends saying that a B20Z? (CRV) engine is the way to go if I want large displacement plus forced induction. Any thoughts on this?

What kind of turbo and intercooler kits do you recommend? I hear that Garrett is one of the best, but I like to keep my options open.

One last thing, I live in Canada so I assume all the prices you folks talk about are in USD, so how much would the swap and turbo approximately cost?

Cheers,

Jay

The CRV block is ok for boost but even with just low boost pressures, you are going to need to get that block re sleeved which is about 800. If I was going to go the 2.0 route, I would buy a b18b engine and bore it out to 2.0 liters or 84mm. This way you would have a bullet proof bottom end. If you are only expecting 250 hp, the plane old stock ls (b18b) is fine for you. No, your stock tranny will not work, you have to get one with your swap. 95% of the time in honda's, when you buy a swap, it comes with almost everything you need.

When you get your swap, it should include theses things with the complete swap...

axles (from an integra)
ECU
assortment of OEM mounts from Integra's (not sure what ones you need)
Tranny
All the other little stuff that will be attached to the engine.