1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b18c into 2000 civic ex

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by jsantoro2000, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. jsantoro2000

    jsantoro2000 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    I just want to know what problems people ran into when they did this swap. What motor mounts to use and wiring harness, etc. Thanks.
     
  2. lude68

    lude68 Senior Member

    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    what obd is the motor?
     
  3. jsantoro2000

    jsantoro2000 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003

    obd2
     
  4. PBE9699

    PBE9699 Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    I would also like to do this swap on a EK-4 chassis...
    All comments appreciated
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    YOU NEED:

    1. B18C
    2. tranny
    3. rear mount from any b-series
    4. 99-00 Si wiring harness
    5. any b-series shift linkage
    6. any b-series axles/intermediate shaft
    7. obd2b(99-up) GSR ecu

    you'll use your stock driver and passenger-side mounts. you can use your stock harness, but you'll have to modify it per the jpg below.

    also, youre gonna HAVE to move the ecu pin for the fuel pump relay, per the jpg below.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. SiLenTSpeeDEk9

    SiLenTSpeeDEk9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    For OEM mounts you'll need to replace the DRIVERS SIDE ENGINE MOUNT and the REAR TRANSMISSION MOUNT. You wanna get the ones from the 99-00 CIVIC SI . They will bolt up, the other stock b18 mounts will work fine. As for the wiring. the honest truth is that all you gotta do is extend the wires for the O2 sensors and add a few wires for the KNOCK SENSOR, VTEC SOLENOID, At least i know thats what the shop did with my ek. :p
     
  7. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    no, youre wrong.

    only b-series mount you need is the rear mount.

    you can use your d-series driver's side mount.
    :beat:
     
  8. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004


    [​IMG]

    Pic - Drivers side front engine mounts

    Did you want to explain that?
     
  9. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
  10. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    owned!! this pic belong in the OWNED post along with the caption added, and OWNED stamped across it!
     
  11. Gen2Teg

    Gen2Teg Senior Member

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    san francisco
  12. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Wasn't trying to prove anybody wrong (just so happened he was).
     
  13. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
  14. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    uh....


    you put the d-series mount on the b-series block....

    ive got mine sittin out in the garage, with the d-series mount holding the motor in, and it works fine....


    you take off the gsr mount, and the 2 mounts on the d-series mount line up with the 2 further-left holes on the b-series block....

    you bolt it in, and mount the motor in the car....


    whats so hard about that?
     
  15. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    That would place the mount on a severe angle. That might be ok for a backyard swap but it is not acceptable for a paying customer.
     
  16. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    and the problem with a backyard swap is.......?

    :D


    iono...mine is lined up fine...

    :shrug:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page