1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b20 non vtec what ecu to use

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by cvc_98, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. cvc_98

    cvc_98 New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    kay guys, i have a 98 civic and the b20 is on the way just waiting for it to be shipped its a complete swap but without the ecu. in the car now is a chipped p28 from phearable cuz im running a SOHC vtec but i was wondering can i use this ecu and just a new chip or do i really need a whole new ecu. let me know whats you opinions thanks.
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    If they can send you a chip with a b20 basemap then by all means keep the p28. otherwise use an obd2a ecu from a 96-99 integra with the b18b.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2009
  3. cvc_98

    cvc_98 New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    alright thanks. i actually have the option for both i have an integ ecu and i can order the chip but whats the better approach to this?
     
  4. DAallday

    DAallday New Member

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    i'd go with the chip...
     
  5. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    probably the chip because you'll have the tuning capability if you so choose, and you'll be unable to change anything if you get the obd2a teg ecu.
     
  6. cvc_98

    cvc_98 New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    okay thanks guys. i know this will be off my topic but did somone ever try installing a b20 throttle body into an integ intake mani because i know those crv mani are huge and theyll stick out so imma try puttin on an integ but then i dont know if the throttle body will fit cuz the fact is my integ mani doesnt have a throttle body and ive heard of things like the throttl cable will short or something
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page